Hard Drive problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
I hope some of you can help me out here.................I recently put a 14 gig hard drive back in my computer that i had full of mp3s/wave files and movie files of my bands gigs and such .The hard drive has been a dry cool place inside a static bag for the last 2 months.

After I got my computer upgraded ,New mother board/processor , new 40 gig master drive , i installed the drive to continue "my work" and I click on the D drive and there were no files on the drive, but the weird part, the drive reports that there is only 6 gigs used.

For reasons unknown, I used win amp and opened the D drive and and half the files were there .I can listen/see the media, but i cant access it .

I have check the jumpers on the drives a 100 times, its got brand new Ide cables , and the computer sees the drive in the Bios.

this drive was my back up , 2 years worth of work,PLEASE HELP..............
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2003
Messages
277
Have you tried a program that can fix hard drive errors, such as one of the Norton tools?
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
Annorax said:
Have you tried a program that can fix hard drive errors, such as one of the Norton tools?
Yes , norton, as well as Scandisk, both said the drive had no problems. The drive worked fine when I took it out ( with all precautions to prevent damage)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Hawng,

Try the

FDISK D: /MBR

routine to restore the backup master boot record. May help? May not? But it won't damage anything.
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
winbob said:
Hawng,

Try the

FDISK D: /MBR

routine to restore the backup master boot record. May help? May not? But it won't damage anything.
Didnt work Bob............Is there anything else i can do?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Replacing the master boot record on a non-booting drive will have no effect, since it's never accessed. :)

You may have changed the drive geometry when you swapped systems. Did you have the drive setup as AUTO in the old system BIOS?
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
johnwill said:
Replacing the master boot record on a non-booting drive will have no effect, since it's never accessed. :)

You may have changed the drive geometry when you swapped systems. Did you have the drive setup as AUTO in the old system BIOS?
I had it set to USER and it seemed to detect the drives settings,and it is set the same for the new BIOS, everything looks the same as the last.
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
Anyone have a suggestion?...................Anyone.................
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
183
you are the patient one ,hawng.... if you had the drive set to user ...you might want to try setting it to AUTO...just to see what happens !!!
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
cavtek said:
you are the patient one ,hawng.... if you had the drive set to user ...you might want to try setting it to AUTO...just to see what happens !!!
just wanted to "bump it up"................ YEah I tried it............ didnt work.................. im at a loss
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
john1 said:
spinrite ?
well, it looks like im going to have to save my pennys for that one....................... Are there any other programs like Spinrite ?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
i think you used to get a trial period,
but i'm not sure.

Its worth trying if you get a trial.

John :)
 

Hawng

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
13
john1 said:
i think you used to get a trial period,
but i'm not sure.

Its worth trying if you get a trial.

John :)
No you dont get a trial period........................ but i downloaded it, ran it and then it told me that I had to buy the program, plus pay $224 to recover 12 gigs of info..................... So I did a search for data recovery software............... found a bunch of programs .............found a free one .....all the comments on it were good ,alot of people satisfied............. ran it, it locked up recovering the files...........now there all gone............ Oh well , it happens i guess, but on the plus side, I have an empty 14 gig drive now..................

Thanks to everyone who gave advice............... and I cant wait till I have another problem cause this board is the BOMB..................
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top