Hard drive problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

surf64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
20
I have just upgraded my P.C with a new MOBO, CPU, Graphics and sound cards. Everything was going well but when I start up my P.C I get the following message in the boot up sequence;

Pri Slave Hard Disk:S.M.A.R.T. Status BAD, Backup &Replace
Press F1 to resume.

When I press F1 it finishes its boot up and everything runs ok.
I have had a look in the bios but can’t find any reference to S.M.A.R.T .
The hard disk worked ok with my old motherboard and works fine when I’ve started up.
The motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-71XE4 with an AMD 750chipset
Can anyone help or tell me what this smart thing is and how to stop it running on my second hard drive.
Cheers
Surf64
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
156
Hi,
SMART is a program in bios which can monitor your hard drive and warn you if it is having problems. How many hard drives do you have in your system? If you only have the one it should not be detecting it as primary slave. Make sure your jumpers are set to master if it is your primary hard drive. Also check in bios and make sure that you do not have the primary slave set to something if it does not exist. You can also disable SMART in bios if you want to see if that clears up your problem. Give us some more info on your pc if you still can not get it.
Hamill
 

surf64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
20
Hi Hamill,
Thanks for the reply
PC spec :
The motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-71XE4 with an AMD 750chipset
CPU Athlon 750
Maxtor5 15gig hd (master)
Fujitsu 4.3 gig hd (slave)
32mb tnt2 graphics (PCI)
320mb sdram
o/s win98 se

I have checked the jumpers on the HD's and they are ok.
I have had a look in bios but am not sure what to look for really.I've had a read of my mobo manual and it doesn't mention SMART anywhere.
If you have any ideas or need any more info please let me know.
Thanks for your help
Surf64
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
156
Hi,
In your bios under advanced bios features you should see:
HDD SMART Capability, you can enable it and disable it.
It is probaly detecting a real problem with your 4.3 gig hard drive.
You may want to back up what you need off of that one. Run scan disk on it to look for errors.
Good Luck,
Hamill
 

surf64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
20
I have just run scandisk and it did find errors but fixed them all.
I'm just defragging the drive now and will then restart to see if I still have the problem.
I don't have an advanced bios setting :(
so if the problem is still there I will have to put up with it until I can get a new hard drive
Thanks for your help
Surf64
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi surf64, welcome to TSG.....

Back up any important data you have on that drive ASAP.

It's not a matter if it's going to fail.......it's a matter of when.......

Check the hard drive's website by keying in the S/N on the drive. Most have 3 year warranties. You may get lucky.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top