Hard Drive Recognition Riddle

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

John Denow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 1999
Messages
189
Hello again...

I have just encountered a strange occurence that I need your assitance with. I had previously installed an ATA 100 adaptor card in one of my old computers (P-II 333mHz...Win 98) only because it came free with the new hard drive and claimed to be able to boost the speed of the hard drive. I uninstalled the adaptor card to use in another computer. I had hard-drive "C" on the adaptor IDE 1 and "D" on the adaptor's IDE 2. My CD-RW was on the MB's IDE 1 and DVD/CD-ROM on MB's IDE 2.

What I hoped to do was have drive "C" now on MB's IDE 1 as master and drive "D" as slave on MB's IDE 1.

The MB's IDE 2 would have CD-RW as master and DVD/CD-ROM as slave.

The CD's are recognized fine, but drive "D" does not detect. I've double checked all my jumpers and connections. When I hook up drive "D" alone on either IDE cable, it's detected.

I did get it detected by having "C" as IDE 1 master and DVD/CD-ROM as IDE 1 Slave...and CD-RW as IDE 2 master and "D" as slave. As I said, it's detected, but the order in "My Computer" is messed up.

Does anyone have any idea why the second hard drive would not be detected when hooked up as slave on MB's IDE 1???

Thanks in advance for the assistance.......


PS...I did uninstall the ATA 100 adaptor card before removing it from the PC and attempting to redo the cable connections

UPDATE.....I swapped the cables and hooked both hard drives on IDE 2 and CD drives on IDE 1. That causes "C" to show up fine, CD drives show up as "D" & "E"...second hard drive shows up as "F". It appears that the second hard drive only detects when hooked to IDE 2.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Triple check the jumpers.
Also check in the BIOS that Primary slave , secondary master and secondary slave are not set to NONE or something other than Auto.
UPDATE.....I swapped the cables and hooked both hard drives on IDE 2 and CD drives on IDE 1. That causes "C" to show up fine, CD drives show up as "D" & "E"...second hard drive shows up as "F". It appears that the second hard drive only detects when hooked to IDE 2.
This indicates that the drive was not recognised by the BIOS but was picked up by Win98. If you go into Control panel/system/performance/files access? you will see that it is running in DOS mode.
 

John Denow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 1999
Messages
189
Dave...Thanks so much for the quick response. You nailed it!! I had gone into BIOS and changed the boot order from SCSI to "C" after removing the adaptor card, but completley missed the settings you mentioned. Both slaves were set to none since I had no need to detect them with the adaptor card installed. I changed them both to "auto" and things were recognized without a hitch.

One question though....When all the detect settings were changed to "auto", then mode also changed to "auto" except for the primary slave, which showed up as "LBA". I assume that setting is correct since it's the default, but what does that setting designate??

Thanks again for the help....John
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
If your disks are likely to be fairly static you can use the Autodetect Hard disk feature from the main BIOS menu. This will fill in the values for you on the screen you just changed and shave a few milliseconds off the boot time. If, like me, you swap disks regularly, you should set them to Auto, including that LBA. The disks will be autodetected on every boot.
 

John Denow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 1999
Messages
189
Things are working so I will leave well enough alone...was just curious what "LBA" stood for.

I notice a tremendous improvement it boot-up time since removing the adaptor card. It took quite a while for that to detect when it was installed. I was going to try using it in my newer (P-4 1.6 gHz win-xp) unit, but I don;t want to risk slowing the boot-up time on the new unit.

Thanks again
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Logical block addressing is a technique that allows a computer to address a hard disk larger than 528 megabytes. A logical block address is a 28-bit value that maps to a specific cylinder-head-sector address on the disk. 28 bits allows sufficient variation to specify addresses on a hard disk up to 8.4 gigabytes in data storage capacity. Logical block addressing is one of the defining features of Enhanced IDE (EIDE), a hard disk interface to the computer bus or data paths.

Cut and paste from here as I'm too lazy to think :D

http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/0,,sid9_gci214074,00.html
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top