1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Hard drive showing way more data than TreeSize Free report

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GreggIllinois, Dec 4, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    My sister's computer is showing that it has 260 GB of data on it. There's no way she has that much, so I ran the TReeSize scan. She only has 90 GB. So I Googled around, and they say it may be bad sectors. Some people suggest runninig chkdsk to test it and then if there are file system errors or bad sectors to run chkdsk c:/r to fix it. But other people say running those things can damage the data on the computer. And some people say replace the hard drive right away. The hard drive still has 450 GB free on the hard drive, (and she'll never use that much) so maybe best to leave the hard drive alone?

    Any suggestions for a reasonable course of action? Thanks.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    GreggIllinois likes this.
  3. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Thanks Mac. What does this tsginfo.exe file do? I dread running .exe files on other people's computers and I dread posting the results for fear of posting information or passwords or whatever that would make the person's computer vulnerable.
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,795
    First Name:
    Jim
    It pulls all of the system hardware info so that we know exactly what type of hardware we are dealing with.

    You can review the info before posting. It doesn't pull any PII.
     
    GreggIllinois likes this.
  5. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Thanks Oddba. That's a great suggestion.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    So are you going to post it then - please
     
  7. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    I ran that exe file on my Windows 10 computer to test it and it worked fine. I put the file on a USB thumbdrive and tried to run it on my sister's computer but her Panda antivirus removed the file from my USB drive. So I downloaded the file on her computer and ran it, but I got a window that said:

    The parameter is incorrect.
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    What is the OS on the computer
    Is it a desktop or a laptop
    the parameter is incorrect MAY indicate errors on the drive
    OR it may indicate other problems
     
  9. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Thanks. The OS is Windows 7 Home Premium. It's an ASUS 8GB of RAM 64 bit Desktop.

    The computer has had no issues with impaired functionality or speed.

    My sister's hardly computer knowledgeable and has tendency to push buttons too quickly. (Not on this computer but on her previous one, she thought it was okay to hold the power button down and power off that way, rather than logging off normally). In other words, she may have done something to cause this issue.
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    Run a chkdsk /r -on C drive and attach results please

    Open a cmd prompt with admin rights, it will probably open at a C:\windows\system32>
    prompt -
    type
    chkdsk /r

    if the response is do you wish to force a dismount type
    N
    the response should then be-
    do you wish to run on restart - or that may be the first response
    type
    Y
    restart the computer
    let the chkdsk which is a five stage check complete and when the computer starts again go to control panel - admin tools, event viewer
    expand windows logs on left pane and click application log
    when that log loads on right pane click find and type
    wininit (note spelling)

    the log will now load wininit entries and the top one will more than likely be the chkdsk you have just run
    open it and make sure it is
    select details - friendly view
    select all
    click copy
    open notepad
    paste
    save to desktop

    then on reply open the txt file on the desktop click edit and select all
    copy and paste to reply please

    OR simply copy and paste directly to reply
     
  11. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310

    Thanks Mac. I will not have the kind of access to the computer for three for four days. In the meantime I attempted to run that tsginfo.exe again. The first time I ran it I got a window and forgot to tell you and only reported the "The parameter is incorrect." Sorry. My bad.

    I ran the tsginfo.exe again just now and a window came up that said:

    Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

    When I Googled around it said to check the file's Properties and then under Security tab. There were three entries under Groups.
    1)SYSTEM
    2) my sister's name and a file name
    3) administrator

    They all had identical information checked.

    PS. I'm thinking what an option might be (since my sister's computer needs to upgrade to Windows 10 soon) would be install an SSD hard drive. I actually bought one for my computer but decided not to use it. I figure replacing my sister's drive might resolve this whole thing. Good idea, bad idea?
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    For future replies there is no need to quote back all I post
    Please just type in the box that appears AFTER my post, not by clicking reply on my post

    It is pointless at this stage re running the system info utility or anything else, please simply proceed to the chkdsk
     
  13. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Okay, Mac. Thanks. It's going to be a couple of days until I have access to that computer to run the chkdsk scan, though. And that scan is not going to reveal any personally identifiable information, right?
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    NO it will not reveal any personal or sensitive data
     
  15. GreggIllinois

    GreggIllinois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Okay. Thank you. :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1236652

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice