1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard drive space problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by xDanielx180, Apr 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xDanielx180

    xDanielx180 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Hello, before i start, i apoligise if I'm writing in the wrong forum.

    When i go to save any file of some sort on to my computer it wont let me.
    I tested this by saving a blank notepad Doc and it still wont let me save the file, when i go to save the Notepad file it come's up with a error saying: Not enough memory available to complete this operation. Quit one or more applications to increase available memory, and then try again. I have 29.8GB on my hard drive so that is not a issue for sure. Thank's for reading. :)
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,618
    Welcome the to TSG xDanielx180. Click the Start Orb and type resmon Click resmon.exe When it comes up click the memory tab and post here what the available memory is.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.gif
      1.gif
      File size:
      122.8 KB
      Views:
      214
  3. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Whats your System RAM?
    Also post the specs/config of your system.
     
  4. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Does this happens when Multiple programs are open??
    Try closing all of the programs and then accomplish the task
    Sorry for the BAD English
     
  5. xDanielx180

    xDanielx180 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thank you for the help so far Lance1,
    My Available Physical memory keeps changing from 870-875
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Are you running good, comprehensive security software? When was the last time you scanned for malware?
     
  7. xDanielx180

    xDanielx180 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    No i dont beleive i have done a scan for a while, maybe i should do this to check for malware.
     
  8. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,618
    May I suggest downloading the free version of Malwarebytes
     
  9. xDanielx180

    xDanielx180 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I'm scanning my computer now, i'll tell you what the outcome is after the scan
     
  10. xDanielx180

    xDanielx180 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Ok i scanned the computer, i ended up having alot of virus's on there. I deleted all the threats but still no change for the memory. I also cant adjust my volume by the click of the button in the tool bar in the bottom right, i have to manually do it by going to system and sound settings
     
  11. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Info on system specs/config will be appreciated.
    More viruses can be still be left undetected.
    Try running a full scan with SAS(download link in my sign)
    This is not a hard disk problem but something else.
    I have never encountered such an error with windows 7 on 896 MB of RAM laptop.
    Sorry for the BAD English.
     
  12. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Follow the below instructions Carefully:
    1. Download HiJackThis from the link in my signature
    2. Run a Scan.
    3. Save a Logfile(On your Desktop)
    4. DO NOT FIX ANYTHING BY YOURSELF.
    (Fixing Anything Might cause Unwanted System Instability,BSOD's and Even Render your System Unusable)
    5.Copy and Paste all the contents
    6. Paste them in the reply Window
    Continued in next reply so as to prevent cluttering

    Please post a screenshot of resmon and answer all of my questions>...
     
  13. xDanielx180

    xDanielx180 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I cant save the logfile as my computer wont let me save anything,
    And i cant post a screenshot neither as it wont let me save it.
    Although when i scan with HijackThis, in the first few seconds of a full system scan, it says i have to type notepad in to run and fix something to do with a domain, i cant fix it though as it wont let me save the notepad file afterwards
     
  14. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Sorry but i never thought of it........
    Maybe your hosts is hacked.

    Go to C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc and then open the file name "hosts".

    It should look something like this:
    (If not, its hijacked then--->This is the original file)
    Open the file using notepad.

    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host
    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
    #Norton 360 Starts.

    #Norton 360 Ends.
     
  15. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Please post the contents of your HOSTS file in the reply window
    BTW,
    what is the time limit to edit a previous post?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917602

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice