1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard drive upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 903ASP, Jul 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Hi guys. Got a hard drive question:

    I was given a AMD SEMPRON 2400+ 1.67 GHZ, with 224 mb of ram. I would like to upgrade my hard drive, which is a MAXTOR_2F040L0 ( 40 gb's ). The problem is, when i search for an upgrade for my hard drive, all i get is sales for same thing. Anyone know how i can get a compatibility chart, to see what i can buy, to upgrade?
     
  2. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    What model of computer is it? Is it a laptop or desktop?Does it take an IDE or SATA drive? if it came with a 40 gb harddrive the computer must be really old as you cant even buy that size anymore.Most harddrives now are 250gbs and up.You might want to type in the model of your computer such as for example a dell inspiron 1420 and you will see what kind of drive it needs and where to buy them so you get the correct kind.And also to run windows xp at the minumum properly you should check to see if you can go with more ram which is 512mbs.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    A 40 GB hard drive has more than enough capacity to run Windows XP and your programs and extras, as long as you don't try to store a bunch of photos and videos and music in it.

    The BIOS in that old computer is probably too old anyway to support a large capacity hard drive.

    What you really need to do is to add at least another 256 MB of RAM if you don't want that old computer to run like a snail.

    What brand name and model name and model number is it?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24

    Isn't this the make/model/etc Sueohio? It's the info in "system info": AMD SEMPRON 2400+ 1.67 GHZ, with 224 mb of ram? It's a desk top also.
    The first 3 letters in disk info are IDE, and i can buy same size hd. Found a ton of them, while trying to find an upgrade :) It is running Win xp home now, and i would also upgrade to bigger ram, if i can find a larger hd :)
     
  5. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Well, if it can't support a larger hd Flav, i guess i can't do it anyway, but i don't intend to store a lot of pics/vids/music. Just wanted to upgrade it a little, so i'm ok down the road. Was intending to upgrade ram also, but after i upgraded hd. Again, as i as i asked Sueohio above, isn't this the make/model/etc of this desk top: AMD SEMPRON 2400+ 1.67 GHZ, with 224 mb of ram? :)
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    The link that opens when clicking on your model number shows a WYSE Slim Client. Is that what you have?
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    Go here and allow the Crucial System Scanner to load and run.

    After it's finished and it displays a report, copy-and-paste the link to that report here so we can go there and view it.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Lmao......beats the H outta' me Dusty. I'm going to try Flavs link, and another link that i found, and hopefully they will give me/you guys more info to work with. Right now i'm stumped, if AMD SEMPRON 2400+ isn't the make model?
     
  9. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Ok Flav, will do :)
     
  10. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    For some reason or other Flav, Crucial kept freezing up on me.......dial up????
    Anyway, i got info using another program, and here it is :)

    OS-MS WIN XP HOME-32 BIT-SP2
    CPU-AMD SEMPRON THOROUGHBRED 0.13UM TECH.
    RAM-256 DDR@166 MHZ 2.5-3-2-7
    MOTHERBOARD-GIGABYTE TECH. CO, LTD 7VM400M-RZ (SOCKET A )
    GRAPHICS-IBM G96 ( 1024 X 768@60 HZ )VIA/S3G UNICHROME IGP
    HARD DRIVE-31.8 GB MAXTOR 2F040L0 ( PATA )
    OPTICAL DRIVE-HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC 4521B
    AUDIO-VINYL AC '97 CODEC COMBO DRIVER ( WDM )
     
  11. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    Ok that makes a big difference. The Sempron referred to is the processor. With a motherboard that age, you may end up with a drive size limitation. Though if you can get a 120Gb IDE drive you should be fine there. I tried looking on the Gigabyte Website and couldn't get any information about the motherboard at all, I was looking for Ram Limits for you.
     
  12. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
  13. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Hey, sounds good to me Dusty, as does the 1 gb ram upgrade. So, to make sure i got it right, i can find any brand 120gb hard drive, as long as it's IDE? As for the 1 gb ram, is that by itself? or can i add that in, along with the 256?
     
  14. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    If yoiu follow the link I posted it says you can go up to 2Gb Ram on your motherboard. 1Gb in each slot would be better than 1Gb in one slot and 256Mb in the other. And from the prices I have seen locally for DDR1 Ram 29.99 each is not too bad a price. Even at Newegg Crucial or Corsair PC2700 ram is going for about that price per stick,
     
  15. 903ASP

    903ASP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Ok, great, that's even better. Will start looking around for 120 gb IDE drives, and ram cards tomorrow. Thanks Dusty, and to the others who have helped. You guys ROCK :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1062996