Hard drive writes when idle??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

zrepiV

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Messages
3
Hmm... i'm really confused about this specific problem that has been bothering me when i had my old computer, and when i got my new computer.. which was a while ago =/... anyways, when i leave my computer idle, which means, no moving the mouse, no pressing any keys on the keyboard, no nothing, just leaving windows untouchable, i hear the blasted hard drive making all this noise and sounds like it's copying or writing to the hard drive. At first, i thought it was the hard drive on my old computer, but nope... it wasn't, since when i got the new one (maxtor 40 GB 7200 RPM), it does the same thing. So, i relized it was one of the programs that i loaded onto it. But the problem is, what in god's name is the program. I doubt this is normal, and i doubt it's supposed to do that. Anyhoo, if you want some specifications about my current computer... here it is:
Motherboard : Microstar (MS-6309 ver2.1B)
Processor : PIII 500 E Mhz (hmm... pretty bad, don't you think?)
Ram : 192 Megs
Video Card : 3dfx Voodoo Banshee (AGP)
CD Roms : Some Samsung DVD-ROM drive (Seems to be broken or something... whenever I try to copy or access something from it, it seems to hang my computer and stalls everything while it reads for like 5 seconds, then everything turns right. maybe it's the cd, maybe it's the drive)
Hewlett Packard 8100 Series CD-RW Drive
Hard Drives : Maxtor 40 GB 7200 RPM
Quantum 10 GB 7200 RPM
PCI Slots : None, (have integrated sound ^-^)
ISA Slots : Mediocre [email protected] Ethernet Card

That's about it i guess. Some of the programs that i have installed are :
Microsoft Windows ME
Norton Systemworks 2001
Microsoft Office XP
Encarta Encyclopedia 2001 Deluxe
Roxio EZ CD Creator 5
Etc. *those are my major programs*
And i have a few games installed for wasting time ^-^

Well, if anyone has the same problem and has already solved it, gimme a reply :D

Thanks in advanced.

zrepiV
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
hi... do you have ad-aware for spyware.... sounds like you need to run it & see whats running in the background...

http://www.lavasoftusa.com

but before you get that which I want you to do eventually...
You may have spyware onboard

can you show me what you have in your startup files...


you can do this by going to start/run.. type in msinfo32 & click ok
then click the + beside Software Envirement
then click startup below that
then go to Edit & clck select all...
then click edit again & copy...
come back in here & paste it for me to see
 

zrepiV

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Messages
3
*StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
3Deep Control Panel c:\progra~1\creative\3deep\program\3deepctl.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
AdaptecDirectCD "c:\program files\adaptec\easy cd creator 5\directcd\directcd.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Colorific Control Panel c:\progra~1\creative\colorif\program\hgcctl95.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
CreateCD50 c:\progra~1\common~1\adapte~1\createcd\create~1.exe -r All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
CSINJECT.EXE c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton cleansweep\csinject.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
ctfmon.exe ctfmon.exe .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
EM_EXEC c:\progra~1\logitech\mousew~1\system\em_exec.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
LoadQM loadqm.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
MDM7 "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\vs7debug\mdm.exe" All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
NAV DefAlert c:\progra~1\norton~1\norton~2\defalert.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Norton eMail Protect c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton antivirus\poproxy.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
NPROTECT c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton utilities\nprotect.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
NPROTECT c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton utilities\nprotect.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
VoodooBanshee rundll32.exe 3dfxvbps.dll,bansheeloadsettings All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run


hmm... i took out MOSearch since from what i heard from reading other posts here, that it contributes to "writing on the hard drive when idle" so far, it seems like a good idea to uncheck it but, i just wanna make sure what programs i have running now, some of them might also contribute.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

You have some items there that are routinely responsible for causing errors, and slowing your machine down.
Let's remove all unnecessary and harmful stuff from startup.

Go to Start/run, and type msconfig.
On the Startup tab, uncheck EVERYTHING, EXCEPT for the following items

StateMgr
AdaptecDirectCD "
CSINJECT.EXE
LoadPowerProfile
LoadPowerProfile
NAV DefAlert
Norton eMail Protect
PCHealth
ScanRegistry
SchedulingAgent
SystemTray
VoodooBanshee

Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot (important!)

Also download and install Ad-Aware . This is a program which scans your system for spyware.

After having downloaded AAW, also download the latest Signature file (Reflist.sig) : http://www.lavasoftusa.net/aaw/binary/reflist.zip
Unpack it to the Lavasoft Ad-Aware folder in Program Files, and have it overwrite the one that's there.

Then have your drives and registry scanned for spyware, check all found files and reg keys, click continue, and have them removed.
Reboot one last time.

Your computer will thank you for this, and you'll be amazed about how much more smoothly your system will run.


Good luck,
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
I see you have Office installed. Go to Start>Programs>startup
See if FindFast is in there. If so, delete it. That's a shortcut. Findfast is a resource hog and running it is not necessary. It polls every 15 minutes or so. Usually Floppy seeking is the complaint.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
A couple of points:

1. from the link above about CTFMON
"CTFMon is involved with the language/alternative input services in Office XP. CTFMON.exe will continue to put itself back into MSConfig when you run the Office XP apps as long as the Text Services and Speech applets in the Control Panel are enabled. Not required if you don't need these features. "

2. You were running a program called MDM. It has created a "ton" on files under windows of the form FFF{numbers}.TMP.
These can all be deleted.

and
3. And most importantly, you appear NOT to be running Norton Autoprotect. NAVAPW32.
This is of course, a personal choice, but it is a very small footprint compared to the protection it offers.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
well zrepiV
you have had some very good advice here... Don't forget to get the Ad-aware & run it. Along w/ a good antivirus program, that should be ran nightly.
I think you are in pretty good shape now
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top