hard drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bravesnake

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
3
i start up the computer it doesn't seem to find the hard drive in setup it said hard drive c not installed
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
bravesnake,

Welcome to TSG, errrm how about a little more info. like what OS, when did this start, did you check connections, have you been inside the CPU at all?.........Just tell us a bit more.

DS
 

bravesnake

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
3
darkstar it is running windows 98 ,i got the computer giving to me they said it was to old it is a gateway 2000 p5/75 , i looked at all the connection they seem to be ok ,i had it running earlier yesterday morning that i had to shutdown to get my kids when i tried to restart that when the problem began.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Okay, go to yor desktop my computer dbl click on it and then dbl click on the "C" drive what is there?

DS
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,264
Dark Star,

If Windows is installed on the hard disk and the Desktop is part of Windows, one cannot get to the Windows Desktop when the computer does not see the hard disk exists.


bravesnake,

If you have not opened the case recently, this problem is related to either a bad hard disk or incorrect settings in the CMOS setup. If you have opened the case recently, the possibilities are too many to cover without additional information about exactly what you did.

Had you opened the case at any point before your problem started?

When you did your shutdown, did you go through the proper shutdown procedure or did you just hit the "off" switch?
 

bravesnake

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
3
i tried again and unpluged the ide cables repluged them in and it worked i will wait and to see if stays working. thanks for the help it's and old comp just seeing if would work it's a gateway p5/75 24mb of ram 2gig hard that seems noisey
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top