1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

hard wire desk top and connect wireless laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by smith889169, Nov 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smith889169

    smith889169 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I was reading a thread but it has expired so I thought I would start a new one on same subject. I bought a emachine wireless laptop. I bought a wireless router(ASUS RT-N10) It came with an ethernet cable. I want to keep my desktop hardwired but my DSL cable is regular phone sized. The new router only has ethernet sizes slots. The ethernet on my Modum goes to my desktop. What do I need so I can hook up the wireless and keep my wired connection. Whew! Do I just need a simpler cheaper wireless router? I liked the ASUS one because it has the capability of operating my son's computer next door to me (says it has 300% signal strength) and it has 2 networks in one.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    I'm slightly confused by your text, but tell me if there would be any issues with the setup below.

    Modem connected via Ethernet to Wireless Router. Then from the Wireless Router, connect via Ethernet cable to your desktop computer. Then wireless should be operational as well as your wired connection.
     
  3. smith889169

    smith889169 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    So simple but it didn't seen so until you put it that way. That was not the way it looked in the diagram with the router but IT WORKED! Thanks. I'm not the young sharp brained whipper snapper that I use to be so it's good to have smart guys like you to lead us old folks. I am 63.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    Very glad you were able to get everything up and running.

    While technically the case is closed, there are a few more things I'd like to run by you.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Would you like your Wifi to be password protected?

    This means people would not be able to "piggy-back" on your wireless signal, and it obviously would also increase security. It's not needed, but is highly recommended.

    Also, would you like to change the name of your wireless network to something else?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    And since I'm assuming the purchase of the eMachines laptop was recent, what antivirus do you have running on it?

    I'd like to make sure you're adequately protected so you don't have to come back here in a couple days in the event that you get a virus. :)
     
  5. smith889169

    smith889169 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I think, when I was loading the files from the disk that came with the router, I used a password. I don't know if this is enough or not. I hate having to log in everytime I use something and like I said in my original post, my son will be using the wireless signal too. It said it has 2 networks in one. I don't know how to set up the second network for him yet. I have norton for the virus protection. I have been using a computer for about 10 years so there are things I know. This is my first wireless one though. Thanks for your concern.
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    After you connect to the network the first time, you will not be prompted to put in a password. Your laptop will automatically detect the network and log you in just like it would if the wireless signal was not password protected.
    I would suggest uninstalling Norton as it can be quite the resource hog. Below I have listed (in order of personal preference) some alternative FREE anti-virus programs. Having said that, Norton will do the job, it's just not preferred by myself nor the large majority of regular TSG "staff."
    Microsoft Security Essentials
    Avast! Antivirus
    AVG

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I'm not exactly sure what you (or the advertisement) means by this. Perhaps you're referring to Wireless N and Wireless G signals that are able to be sent from the router?
     
  7. smith889169

    smith889169 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    This is what it advertises.
    The RT-N10 can provide two wireless networks which feature dynamic bandwidth allocation and access control. You can allow guests to access the Internet without sharing your password and private network devices by creating a virtual wireless router for guest. Keep the high bandwidth and secure private network for yourself.
    150Mbps High Speed*

    Broadcom Accelerange™ deliver 300%* Signal coverage. With ASUS unique EZQoS engine, users can easily allocate bandwidth according to their individual needs by simply clicking on the buttons, such as voice or gaming, and assign more or less bandwidth to streamline multiple network activities (FTP, Games, P2P) to work smoothly at the same time.Straight-forward design to help users to:
    • Display the whole network status and clearly provide WAN/LAN status
    • Firewall: NAT and SPI (Stateful Packet Inspection), intrusion detection including logging
    • Logging: Dropped packet, security event, Syslog
    • Filtering: Port, IP packet, URL Keyword, MAC address
    • Encryption: 64/128-bit WEP, WPA, WPA2, TKIP, AES, WPA-PSK, WPA2-PSK
    • Securely connect to your wireless network and prevent intruders from using it
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    Oh, wow. Does exactly like you said. :D

    I've never heard of that feature before, that could come in handy.

    Those are the features I was asking you about as far as creating a password to access the wireless. Would you like to do this or are you content with your connection being open?
     
  9. smith889169

    smith889169 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I really don't worry about it and if it means having to log in every time I connect, I don't want to do anything but if it is something I can do one time and not have to log in to use, I would use it. Thanks for the info on the free ANti virus programs. The Norton is a trial version on the new computer and I am near the renewal time on the desk top so I will probably switch at that time.
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    Like I said, you will only have to log in once and every time after that you won't have to put in the password. So if you're interested in setting that up, let me know. I'll have to do some research on how to configure your particular router.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    And as far as the Norton goes, since it is just a trial, I'd suggest uninstalling ASAP.

    Click HERE to download the Norton Removal Tool.

    This may or may not be compatible with the trial version. If not, you can simply uninstall by doing the following:

    Start ==> Control Panel ==> Add or Remove Programs

    Then remove the Norton Trial and reboot your system.

    Then you can download one of the anti-viruses I suggested earlier.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/965722

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice