1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Harddisk!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tarq, Jun 8, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    My computer came with a 10gig hardrive with Windows Me preinstalled. I upgraded to Windows XP Home Edition and have been very impressed it was well worth the £90 I payed for the upgrade pack! I purchased 64MB of RAM to bring my memory from 64MB to 128MB and my computer hasn't crashed ONCE since I got XP! But having two operating systems on one 10 gig hardrive and lots of preinstalled programs such as office has taken its toll and I was warned the other day that my harddisk was nearly full! I deleted all my unnessesary files and managed to get back 1 gig of space but I'm still not happy and would like to get a new 20gig hardrive. It makes more sense to use my recovery disk to return my computer to the way it was when it left the factory and reinstall windows XP on the new harddrive leaving my old operating system on the old C:\ and installing all my programs into the new harddrive. I have two questions about this:

    1) Will my computer become dual-boot which i DONT want to happen I want the same setup as I have know but with XP installed on the new harddrive?

    2) Will I be able to call my new harddrive B:\ as I don't have a 5 1/2 floppy drive installed and would prefer to have things organised and call it that, if not what will my drive call itself as default as I already have A,C,D,Q,R drive letters already taken?
     
  2. wedor

    wedor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1999
    Messages:
    4,504
    Most new retail drives come with software allowing to copy your drive exactly to the new one.
     
  3. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    Thanks for replying!:) I understand this but I would rather have a fresh install on the new harddrive! Do you know the answers to my questions?:confused:
     
  4. wedor

    wedor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1999
    Messages:
    4,504
    Kill the font, it's hard to read. Let me get this straight, you want to use your restore disk to install your original OS on the new drive, then you want to use your upgrade CD to change the OS to XP? This would not be considered a "fresh" install in most cases. No, your system will not become dual-boot. You will need to remove the old drive while doing this. I really don't know off-hand if you can name it B, I don't recall anyone asking before.
     
  5. carltasha

    carltasha

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    983
    install the new drive as master and the old one as slave , boot from a flappy and install the OS . then move the files and programs you want to keep from the slave to the master , . then format the old drive and you got it.
     
  6. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    Why do I need to remove the other drive can't I just specify I want to install windows XP on the new drive during setup, were in the past I specified I wanted it installed on C:\

    :confused:
     
  7. wedor

    wedor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1999
    Messages:
    4,504
    Not if you want that to be the boot drive and the only OS.
     
  8. wedor

    wedor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1999
    Messages:
    4,504
    Or you need to to as carltasha suggests and change the drives around so that the new drive is master and the old one slave, those are your only 2 options.
     
  9. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    yep i wont need the other harddrive after that! But ill leave Me installed by using the XP upgrade option should I eva need to go back!
     
  10. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    so that will work then! my plan? calling it B:\ doesn't matter than much
     
  11. wedor

    wedor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1999
    Messages:
    4,504
    Although you can move files to the new drive you will need to re-install the programs. Either put the new drive in by itself or set it as master and slave the old one, then install away.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/82723

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice