1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Harddrive problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zipp080, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Alright today I built an amd64 system as stated in an earlier post. I was having problems getting it to boot, but now I finally solved the problem and got it to boot. Now my problem is with the harddrive. When I first got it to boot, it showed the 3 drives: CD rom, A drive, and the IDE harddrive. I was messing with the boot disks and after messing around abit later, I realized that my harddrive was no longer being detected. Only my A drive and cdrom were actually shown. I tried switching ribbon cables, I tried switching the power cables around. I took off the A drive completely. Everytime I boot and it goes to the BIOS, it just says "NOT DETECTED" by the IDE primary device.

    Also alittle strange is that if I don't go into the BIOS or if I go into a perticular setup prog, it tells me that I failed to overclock everytime such as "YOU FAILED TO OVERCLOCK THIS SYSTEM!"
    something on the lines of that, I do not know the exact wording, but on the lines of that I failed to overclock when I never even tried to overclock or know how to. Is it suppost to say this?

    In the middle of my connecting and reconnecting the A drive, I left the power supply plugged into the wall, but I had the computer shut down completely. Could I of blown my harddrive up so it just isn't being detected anymore?
     
  2. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Alright, Well I unplugged all 3 devices and just plugged in the harddrive itself. So I have a ribbon cable going straight from my harddrive into the PRIM ide slot. And I have a power cable going into it. When I boot it recognizes the harddrive. Now When I plug in the CDROM it stops recognizing the harddrive. I used a totally seperate ribbon cable to plug in the CDROM into the SECondary ide slot. Am I hooking it up wrong I take it? Because if I unplug the cdrom, then it recognizes the harddrive; if I plug in the cdrom, then it deosnt recognize the harddrive.
     
  3. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    Did you set your BIOS to secondary as seeing the CD rom?
     
  4. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Well I messed with it some more, and now I cant even get it to recognize the harddrive alone. I've tried 3 different ribbon cables. This is so frusterating. Sometimes it recognizes it, then I try plugging in the CDrom too, then it stops recognizing it, then I cant get it to recognize the harddrive again even by itself.
     
  5. ETECH

    ETECH

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Check the jumper settings on the back of the two drives, HD should be set to master and CD-Rom to slave, this should work as it has happened to me once
     
  6. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Alright, hes an easier question. I have 4 different types to plug in my 3 devices. In which should I put them.

    I have


    Primary Master
    Primary Slave
    Secondary Master
    Secondary Slave

    Where Should I put each of my : Harddrive, cdrom, A-drive

    Currently I have my harddrive on Primary Master and its being recognized.


    PS. I went into my bios settings and looked at the voltages. And the bottom 2 (5 V and 12 V) were jumping from grey to red. Is that bad? I have a 400w powersupply on it.
     
  7. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    I just looked on the back of the cdrom drive and the jumpers were on (CS)

    There were 2 other options (SL) or (MA)..

    What is (CS)?
     
  8. ETECH

    ETECH

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    if the cd-rom is on the same cable it should be set to primary slave, if it on a separate cable it should be set to secondary master

    the power jumping like that is no prob, mine does that and has been since i built it
     
  9. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    OK that's good. Now just make sure that your CD is ALSO jumpered to master in the back.

    Set the secondary (BIOS) to say CD ROM.

    The other end of the CD cable should be plugged into the secondary IDE plug on your mobo.

    Enjoy ;)
     
  10. ETECH

    ETECH

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    CS is cable select, alows computer to configure the device for u but sometimes does not work, i would suggest u put the drive on a separate cable and setting the jumper on the back on MA (Master)

    It should then show up in bios as Secondary Master
     
  11. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    If you guys could talk to me on aim it would be VERY much appreciate so I could get this done quicker and with faster reponsed. My s/n on aim is p00rsp0rt (0's are zeros)

    Thanks alot
     
  12. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    Sorry don't use AIM. Too much spyware :D
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217521

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice