1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hardware acceleration

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by faiz, Nov 25, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. faiz

    faiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    I had initialy posted a thread about Direct X 8
    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=59156

    since I got no replies I thought of going into microsoft support.
    Since I got a 3dfx voodoo card this is what I found

    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q186/5/78.ASP?LN=EN-US&SD=gn&FR=0

    Under direct x diagnostic tool -- display--- Agp texture acceleration is grayed out , I was told that enabling it would make a great difference to performance . so I posted a thread but no luck, then i found this information on the microsoft support website as above , but still it doesn't solve my problem because the 3 dfx website is down and I need Glide drivers that are compatible with the official drivers of 3dfx
     
  2. Chum

    Chum

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,005
    Are you sure your 3dFX Video card is an AGP card(don't be offended). Most of the older 3DFX cards were PCI.
     
  3. faiz

    faiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Hi chum ,

    Yes it is an Agp card
     
  4. faiz

    faiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Chum,
    I have just edited and posted the thread , regarding my initial problem so that you will be able to get a better idea as to my config.

    Thanks for replying so soon
     
  5. Chum

    Chum

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,005
    Look at this also for Voodoo drivers. I think 3DFX Glide drivers were called 3DFx miniGlide or something like that(I used to own a Voodoo2).

    Do you have DirectX 8 or the new DirectX 8.1? I have heard that after updating drivers that you sometimes have to reinstall DirectX
    to get them to work properly.

    Moderator needed to combine these threads.

    :D
     
  6. faiz

    faiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    I've got direct x8
     
  7. indigowindow

    indigowindow

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    211
  8. faiz

    faiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    thank you
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59535

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice