1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

hardware drivers

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by troutmaster, Sep 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. troutmaster

troutmaster Thread Starter

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to this computer thing I wander could someone help me please. I have an old base station computer with Windows XP installed but some of the hardware drivers are not installed. Listed below is the information I was told to place here :

MODEM.

PCI\VEN_8086 & DEV_1080

ETHERNET.

PCI\VEN_8086 & DEV_1050

VIDEO.

PCI\VEN_8086 & DEV_2572

I would be very grateful for any assistance given on where and how to download the drivers for the above mentioned.

Thanks Guys.

2. valis

valis Moderator

howdy and welcome to TSG. :)

The VEN_ is the vendor ID, the DEV_ is the device id; enter both of them at http://pcidatabase.com. That will give you the details you need to track down the driver.

3. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    The ethernet device is a Intel PRO/100 VE Network Connection and was a very common one in older desktops.
    Its Windows XP driver (PRO2K3XP_32.exe) can be obtained from here.

The display/video device is part of the Intel D865GLC motherboard - which is apparently what's in that old desktop.
    Its Windows XP driver (GFX_XP2K_MCE_14.17.0.4396_PV.EXE) can be obtained from here.

I doubt very seriously that you need the driver for the Intel chip-based modem and that you use a 56K dial-up connection.
    If the modem is a separate card and isn't integrated into the motherboard, remove it.

------------------------------------------------------------------

4. DaveBurnett

DaveBurnett Account Closed

Ven 8086 is Intel so those are all Intel parts.

5. troutmaster

troutmaster Thread Starter