1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hardware for transferring video from camcorder

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by loony1, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. loony1

    loony1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I have a Sharp Camcorder VL-Z5E. It has facitlity only to transfer still images to the PC through a USB port. However, it does not anytyhing to transfer the video to the PC. How does one transfer video to the PC? Will a TV tuner card / Fire wire card help? What is the difference between these cards and a video capture card? Thanx
     
  2. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    I just checked on line, where did you buy this, it is PAL and not NTSC. That might not make too much difference since most mastering software you can set this. I can not find anything on line for this. What type of ports does it have ? composit ? svideo ? digital ? i know you will have trouble trying to play back ( assuming you are in the USA ) where are you ?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Your camera uses IEEE-1394 (Firewire) to transfer the video, the USB is just used to transfer the still images. This is common in DVR models. From Page 66 in your manual, here's the connection for the IEEE-1394 from the camera. Obviously, you need a Firewire port on the computer in question.
     

    Attached Files:

    • dvc.jpg
      dvc.jpg
      File size:
      32.9 KB
      Views:
      42
  4. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    Looks like it also does analog video besides the digital, you will need a capture card and software.

    these are some analog and digital cap devices
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=1425
    these are capture devices with a tuner, the one i have you can select PAL or NTSC
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=1427

    here is a cheapo that i bought that did remarably well, analog only. no tuner
    it was only $12
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/Applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1454656&Sku=A03-7066
    it only comes with the cables and drivers. You need to supply the capture software
    i like Intervideo win dvd

    here is firewire
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=1424
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, all you should need is the IEE-1394 digital cable to read the stored video. You will need a video editing application to actually process the video.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485598

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice