1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HardWare Upgrade and then some

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by foxtrotsam2, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. foxtrotsam2

    foxtrotsam2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Am I expecting too much? :eek:

    Aging little beast: AcerPower
    Intel Celeron Processor; version x86 Family 6 Model 6Stepping 5, 500mhz
    Bios version: Acer v3.2 R01-E3 EN
    OS: Winxp (from win 98) did a clean install (NTFS)-incase this is true-I find NTFS is zippier than FAT32 is this possible :)
    upgrade: from a 4 gig to an 80 gig hdd, operates very good :)
    upgrade: from 64mgs to 320mgs SDRAM :)
    Running Kodak Easy Share digital system
    Running McAffee, GhostSurfer,PestPatrol,Winxp firewall,Office200,entire suite
    CPU/DRAM Frequency 100/100 MHZ, 66/100 MHZ
    Main Board ID: V76M

    Q1: I would like to install a CD writer, WebCam and voice, upgrade my CPU,
    will I need to upgrade my BIOS, cooling fan, power supply (power supply is original don't know what it has now but I can find out by taking off the top)
    Q2: Can I run DRAM instead of SDRAM- I know they don't run side by side, which is faster
    (y)
     
  2. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    The motherboard won't support DDR Ram, or indeed a particular huge increase in CPU speed in fact to a max of 700Mhz

    You've already overdone the RAM according to specs, max is 256MB

    I hate to say this, but if you really want a huge increase in performance, it is time to retire the old lady

    If you were to stay with it, upping the PSU to 350W may be advisable if you plan on adding the cd writer
     
  3. foxtrotsam2

    foxtrotsam2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Thanx, ever hear the term, "If it don't need fixin' don't fix it"
     
  4. foxtrotsam2

    foxtrotsam2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Thanx, I heard somewhere: quote, "if it don't need fixin' don't fix it"
    guess it's time to move up to a whole new system, I donate these old beasts when they don't serve my purpose, good advice
     
  5. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    My favourite phrase!! :D
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - HardWare Upgrade
  1. Rougeole
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    620
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217643

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice