Have I Bought A Bad Egg / Laptop...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ABSTRAX

LOL... well, I bought it new, its not so much have I bought a bad laptop in the 'I bought it second hand off E-Bay and now that bargain is coming back to haunt me' sense, its more along the lines of everything seems to be going wrong with it...

Now, admittedly it is my first laptop but I'm a veteran of the desktop PC and in all honesty I can't see why there would be too great a difference between them, so let me fill you in on the detail, and why I think its a bad egg...

1. I've had the laptop for under 30 days... bought as a Christmas present...

2. The laptop is listed as having 64MB of shared Video Memory, expandable to 128MB [which I've still not figured out how to do!], yet when it came to running a game which required 64MB of Video Memory as a pre-install condition, I was told I wasn't able to install the game as I only had 60MB of video memory...

3. Running AIDA32, my two RAM sticks are recognised as 512MB each... yet when it comes to the overview screen which totals the RAM, it tallys to 1014MB, instead of 1024MB...

4. I've been unable to play Counter-Strike from it... it runs I might enjoy one game, then I'm cut down by the now infamous WSAEINTR error... its commonly attributed to some defect in the Winsock area but the speculative remedies I've tried have failed to rectify the problem