1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

have toshiba satellite 660/660d and d link router cant connect wirelessly?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by yorvikprincess, Jul 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yorvikprincess

    yorvikprincess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    cant send screen shot can see my network but still unable to connect its doin my head in :I
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    so the xirrus screen shot - shows you all the wireless signals available to connect to including yours
    Now on the line that your signal name is on - there is some other information
    can you post
    the signal strength
    Signal (dBm) =
    - it will shows with a - infront and have a colour - green, yellow, orange or red
    then
    Default Encryption =
    Next
    Default Auth =
    Next a few more along
    Channel =

    That at least proves the wireless adapter is on and can see the networks
     
  3. yorvikprincess

    yorvikprincess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    signal- green -48
    default encryption AES-CCMP
    default auth- WPA2 PSK
    channel- 11,7
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    so thats a good connection strength - now the next thing to do is to turn of the wireless encryption in the router

    i know this is confusing - do you want to continue with that
     
  5. yorvikprincess

    yorvikprincess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    how do i do that?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    you need to connect a cable to the router and a PC
    make sure that works with internet

    then assuming you router is set to defaults
    dlink dir 615
    we can log into the router and goto the configuration pages for wireless and make a note of the current settings and password and then take the security off / switch off /disable
    and then see if you can connect, if you can , put the security back on and see if you can connect.

    does the router have a version number on it - so i can post a link to the correct user manual and we can follow together
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063032