Having problems setting up my wireless network with my Xplornet fixed wireless

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mess11ier

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
9
It's me again guys, but since last time, I have bought a new desktop and a tablet and I am now re-attempting to setup my a wireless network so that I can use the tablet.
As I played around with the tablet, I pressed the wifi button, and lo and behold, it detected my router, told me my IP address, etc.
But, it will not allow me to browse the internet because I am not connected, and when I run the setup disc on my pc [step 1 - checking settings in computer and router] for the router, it tells me that ' setup assistant is not able to connect to the router via any of the network adapters in this computer.'

I know that I don't have it setup correctly, but I don't know what else to do. I have the ethernet [same as a network cable, right?] cable coming from outside. That goes to the [one and ONLY] port in the back of my tower. I'm stuck. Please help. Thanks again guys.

Jeff
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,650
What kind of internet service do you have? Who is your ISP?
 

mess11ier

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
9
My ISP is Xplornet, and I have their fixed wireless service, which has a tripod on the roof, with a single cable [not the 'phone' type, but the 'network cable' type...sorry for being so basic] coming into the house. I don't know of any more details to provide. Thanks again.
 

mess11ier

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
9
It also says 'Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet'...that's under the 'IRQ' tab in my System Information, and I have absolutely no idea what that means...:p
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,650
Thanks, that's fine. :)

Reset the router to factory default settings.

Please show the following (ipconfig /all) for your PC connected directly to the ethernet cable from the roof.

Then connect the "roof" cable to the WAN (Modem, Internet) port of the router and your PC to a router LAN port and show the following again. Also tell us whether you have internet access with this configuration.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

mess11ier

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
9
Strange...when I switched the 'hookup' like you asked I had internet access for 8-10 seconds...I got excited...:p

Here's what you asked for:

***Before switch:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\JPZOFERRIS>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JPZOFERRIS-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit

Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 18-03-73-B1-B7-87
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :

fe80::6d2c:f9d6:189f:8412%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 96.44.84.186(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : December-09-11 6:29:36 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : December-11-11 6:29:37 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 96.44.84.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.175.3
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 236454771
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-E4-A5-75-

18-03-73-B1-B7-87

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.175.2
142.166.86.18
142.166.86.19
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{C990A46E-791A-4317-B3E8-

45CF3CCFB990}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:602c:54ba::602c:54ba

(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.175.2
142.166.86.18
142.166.86.19
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-

Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :

2001:0:4137:9e76:38f8:5fa:9fd3:ab45(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::38f8:5fa:9fd3:ab45%14

(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\JPZOFERRIS>


***After switch:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\JPZOFERRIS>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JPZOFERRIS-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit

Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 18-03-73-B1-B7-87
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :

fe80::6d2c:f9d6:189f:8412%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : December-10-11 7:49:54 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January-17-48 2:22:06 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 236454771
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-E4-A5-75-

18-03-73-B1-B7-87

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-

Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\JPZOFERRIS>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,650
Somewhere between the antenna on the roof and the ethernet cable you see there is some device that may have to be unplugged for about 30 seconds when you change the device connected to the ethernet.

Your ISP may be tracking the MAC address, so clone the MAC address of your computer to the router's WAN. There will be a "clone" function somewhere, maybe in the router's WAN section and maybe in an Advanced or Tools or Utilities or some such section.

You are getting a good connection to the router, so look at its status to see if it (the WAN or Internet) is getting a good IP configuration.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top