1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Having problems with wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Lang14, Apr 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lang14

    Lang14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    I'm trying to set up a wireless network in my home. Just to make things easier on myself as there's several computers in the house.

    Currently I have the TEW-432BRP Wireless router. I've got the internet drop going into the WAN port.

    I've downloaded the manual but I can't past the first step of actually accessing the router.

    The manual says to go to http://192.168.1.1

    With internet currently on the computer or not I cannot get there. I tried setting an IP of 192.168.1.xxx to see if that would work - it didn't. Any help would be appreciated.

    I have two ethernet cards on my computer. One onboard and one PCI.

    Hope I've given everything you guys need to know,
    Tah,
    Lang
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Just to clarify;
    192.168.1.1 should probably be the ip address of your gateway(router)

    I would expect that you would have for a wired connection,two ethernet cables going into the router.
    One from the modem into a port perhaps labeled "internet"or some such verbage and then another ethernet cable going from your lan ports to your pc.For wireless,there would be no cable going to your pc.

    Also,it would be helpful to know operating system and whether this is cable or dsl broadband.
     
  3. Lang14

    Lang14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    The internet is wireless actually. There's a tower on my roof. I'm out in the sticks. I'm using Windows XP SP2.

    What I'm planning on doing is having a wired connection to the computer I'm on now to the router. As it has LAN too. Then the other computers would use wireless.

    Hope this helps,
    Lang
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please connect a computer to one of the router's LAN(Network) ports, but NOT the WAN(Internet) port. Restart the router and the computer, then post this when the computer is fully booted.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. Lang14

    Lang14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Will-Desktop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-4A-8F-40
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-61-7F-FF-DF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.xxx.xxx
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.xxx.xxx
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.96.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 142.46.156.1
    207.179.130.3
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 18, 2008 8:23:06 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 19, 2008 8:23:06 AM
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    Why did you bother posting that ipconfig /all? Perhaps you connected one of the ethernet connections to the new router as requested, but how are we supposed to know which one? And how are we supposed to know to what the other was connected? Without knowing the numbers represented by xxx.xxx there's little that we can say except that there is a small probability that having ICS enabled is causing a problem.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The quality of the information provided will dictate the quality of the help received. :)
     
  8. Lang14

    Lang14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Will-Desktop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-4A-8F-40
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.61.228
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.96.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 142.46.156.1
    207.179.130.3
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 19, 2008 2:54:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 20, 2008 2:54:39 AM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-61-7F-FF-DF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.96.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Your router appears to be on 192.168.56.1, which is probably why you can't reach it on 192.168.1.1.

    I'd reset it to factory defaults, it appears it's been configured by someone for an odd address.

    This is why we ask for ALL the information. ;)
     
  10. Lang14

    Lang14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    The network card with 192.168.56.1 as the Default Gateway isn't the card that goes to the router.

    Also, when I set the IP of the second card to 192.168.1.2 and the gateway to .1 I can no longer access the internet. Yet I don't configure the card the internet is going in to...

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Will-Desktop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection: <--- TO WAN

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-4A-8F-40
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.61.228
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.96.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 142.46.156.1
    207.179.130.3
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 20, 2008 1:49:38 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 20, 2008 1:49:38 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4: <--- TO ROUTER

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-61-7F-FF-DF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.101.116
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    That's some progress. Now we know which connection is to the router; and disabling ICS has resulted in an Auto Config IP instead of 0.0.0.0. The Auto Config address could be because you are connected to the WAN port of the router, or the router's Dhcp server is disabled (have you reset the router to factory default settings?), bad cable, bad LAN port on the router or bad NIC. Do the ethernet LEDs light on both PC and router when you connect the cable?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/705013

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice