having trouble sending emails

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fl05ea

cannot send emails but have no trouble receiving them i am using outlook express :(

have you checked the account settings such as outgoing password etc?

Also check firewall settings

fl05ea

Hi i'm new to this i'm having trouble sending emails with outlook express. I have no trouble receiving them. I always get an error number Ox800CCCOF

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Hi fl05ea

Welcome to Tech Support Guy Forums!

I have merged your posts to this thread.
Please do not create duplicate threads.
Thank you.

Most ISP's will require authentication.
In Outlook Express:
Tools > Accounts > (Account Name) > Properties > Servers Tab

Under Outgoing Mail Server
Place a check mark in: My server requires authentication
Apply, OK, Close to save the settings.

Send yourself a Test message.

Let us know if that makes a difference or not.

fl05ea

Tried what you recommended but didn't work got a different error number Ox800420CD

fl05ea

Message number 2 could not be retrieved. Account: 'pop.ozonline.com.au', Server: 'pop.ozonline.com.au', Protocol: POP3, Server Response: '-ERR Can't open the message file - it's gone!', Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Server Error: 0x800CCC90, Error Number: 0x800420CD

fl05ea

Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity. Subject 'Re: brian', Account: 'pop.ozonline.com.au', Server: 'smtp.ozonline.com.au', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Error Number: 0x800CCC0F. There were no attachments, when i send a test to myself it works ok but when i try and send to someone else thhis is the message i get.

I am having the same problem ... can receive but cannot send. I copied the error message: