hd keeps turin off?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crownydowny

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
14
my hd keeps turin off or sumthin i was told that it was caused by my cmos battery so before i could change it my comp crashed so i decided to get anew mb adn thought it was fixed but now it is doin it again it ruined one of my hd's already and i dont know wassupp plz sumone help
 

crownydowny

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
14
plz help its doin it right now again and again im so lost here i bouts to throw it out the window
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
41
does it sound like its having a hard time spinning? like its making click noises? cuz my hard drive did that and i just got the hard drive replaced and problem solved...hope that helps
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
41
or maybe you need to check and see if your power scheme isn't set to turn off hard disks after 3 mins or so...power scheme should be in your display properties, under screen saver tab
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2003
Messages
261
Power Schemes is actually under

Start\Settings\ControlPanel\PowerOptions\

I have mine set to
Always On

& then in the "Settings for Always On power scheme" I have:
Turn off monitor - Never
Turn off Hard Drives - Never
System Standby - Never

Of course this is only if you haven't look into this possibility already. :D
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,836
Tell us WHY you believe the HDD is "Turning off". Just what do you observe. Be as precise as possible.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
It might be helpful to know what kind of system, desktop, laptop, etc. Also, what O/S are you using, W98, W2K, WXP, etc.? It's hard to help when you supply no details...
 

crownydowny

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
14
ok see what happens is while my comp is turned on my hdd everynow and again will click on and off and my comp starts to freeze a lil the first time i noticed it my system crashed and woudnt boot again and gave a message liek no os present so i took and old hd and reinstalled now its up and runnin again but is still clickin on and off and everytime i start comp up it auto. starts a disk check for consistancy and always finds bad clusters in certain files but different ones everytime so im confussed......... i went to power setings and the scheme was set to home/office desk so i changed it to always on i also run xp home right now but when prob started i had xp pro on it i hope this gives a lil more info on the situation thank u all for the input
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
97
I had a similar problem to yours which after a lot of head scratching turned out to be an intermitant problem with the PSU (dont know if that is your problem but it is worth bearing it in mind)

It always supplied enough power to the MB, but sometimes screwed the HD. As it got worse it started to affect the CD, DVD etc and sometimes on restart would not detect the HD in Bios


Before rushing out to buy a new psu or HD etc, check all the cables are ok, download your HD manufacturors diagnostic software to check the HD, beg or borrow another PSU.
 
D

Deathdealer

i had the exact same problem

when the harddrive got hot it stopped till it cooled down put a

fan beside the hardrive and see if it works again
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I would download and run the drive diagnostics from the manufacturer.
 

crownydowny

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
14
its not getting hot cause i have three fans in my comp but i think i will try the cables my ide one r new but they r the round ones and also i have many attacthed things such as lights and fans and such all for power so i think i will try diff things to see if that combats the problem tyhank u all for the inout ..... by the way wat is psu as referred above and how would i go aobu tgeting drive diagnostics? thank u all
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
512
Hi an welcome! PSU= Power Supply Unit. To get the Hard Disk diagnostics goto ur Drv manufacturer's website and look for a link under Tech Support that specifies a downloadable file that can be put on a Floppy to fully test the hard disk for fuction, etc.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top