Hd Questions

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Spontaneous

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2004
Messages
12
Specs:

Gateway E-4000
WinXP Home
P4 2.4ghz
SP1 (Waiting for SP2 to be released via CD/DVD)
1x Maxtor 80gb hd
1x Maxtor 250gb hd (Not Installed Yet)

Questions

1. I bought the 250gb hd at Best buy, the tech guy there said I needed FireWire. So I also bought an Adaptec FireConnect 4300.

A. What does FireWire do/ Why do I need it?
B. If I need it, How/Where do I install it?

2. Since I have SP1 is there a hd limit supported? Do I need SP2?

3. Do I need a BIOS update? If so, what is a good (free) BIOS update for my system?

4. Should the 80gb or 250gb be the Master/Slave?

Thanks. :)
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
34
I'll try to give you answers to some of your questions. But take some time to read all of the instructions you received with your new components because you will be opening your computer case to install your Firewire connection. Don't begin work until you feel comfortable with what you will be doing, because while this shouldn't be complicated, you can do a lot of damage if you are not careful.

Assuming (?) your 250 Maxtor is an external HDD, you will connect it to your computer via the firewire connection (it is a card you will plug into a PCI slot on your motherboard) you also purchased. Simply (as I understand it) firewire is a very fast and efficient way of transferring your data to/from the external hard drive.

Your Adaptec FireConnect 4300 will plug directly into a PCI slot on your motherboard. The package should include an installation CD.

You need to check with Gateway regarding whether your computer motherboard needs a BIOS update to work with your new hard drive - if needed and available, there should be no charge.

If Firewire works like USB connected external hard drives (as I understand them), you don't need to worry about Master/Slave. Your current drive should remain the master and that should work for you.

Hope this might help some. There are many experts available here that know a lot more than I do, and as I said earlier, you shouldn't begin installing your internal Firewire card until you are sure of what you are doing. If you have doubts, check with BestBuy (or your local computer dealer) to see what they would charge to install the card. After the Firewire card is installed, you connect the HDD by plugging it into the slot.

With all of that said -- best of luck!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Spontaneous said:
Specs:

Gateway E-4000
WinXP Home
P4 2.4ghz
SP1 (Waiting for SP2 to be released via CD/DVD)
1x Maxtor 80gb hd
1x Maxtor 250gb hd (Not Installed Yet)

Questions

1. I bought the 250gb hd at Best buy, the tech guy there said I needed FireWire. So I also bought an Adaptec FireConnect 4300.

A. What does FireWire do/ Why do I need it?
B. If I need it, How/Where do I install it?

2. Since I have SP1 is there a hd limit supported? Do I need SP2?

3. Do I need a BIOS update? If so, what is a good (free) BIOS update for my system?

4. Should the 80gb or 250gb be the Master/Slave?

Thanks. :)
If you are asking about the 250 gig drive being master or slave, I have no clue whatsoever why they would tell you that you need a firewire card :confused:

I will tell you one thing though, last week CompUSA has the Adaptec 4300 for $9.99 after a $20 mail in rebate.....

Also, I did buy one, and popped it into my computer and didn't need any drivers off the cd. XP found everything it needed.
 

Spontaneous

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2004
Messages
12
To clarify the Hd is internal. I am still confused about why I need the firewire.

I purchased the Adaptec 4300 for $40. (Rip.)

I purchased the 250gb HD for $145.
 
Joined
May 3, 2004
Messages
1,544
Before buying any hardware in the future it would be wise to consult these wise people in this forum. ;) They can set you straight before you go out and spend money needlessly. You got took on the firewire :eek: And it does not matter which one you set up as master/slave. Just your preference :) I hope you can return the firewire. :D
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I hate to say it, but a 250 hard drive for $145 is too much too.

I picked two up (Hitachi) at Fry's about a month ago for $79.99 ea. after rebate.

Let me dig around my sale flyers, emails, etc. and see what the great deal this week is.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top