HDD CMOS Error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Adamjoz

Ok, so I’m relatively new to computer building but I have done a fair amount of research and this is my first build, a completely new build.
Specs
I9-10850k
ASUS ROG Maximus Formula XII
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB (x2)
ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce 1080Ti
Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 32gb (2x16)

When I boot the PC up, it does it’s own checks and eventually gets to the stage where ‘HDD CMOS Error’ shows up on the motherboard screen. I also cannot get anything to show up on my monitor, I have tried all 4 outputs on the GPU, so I also can’t access the BIOS at this moment. I have checked that everything is seated correctly and it all seems to be. I just don’t understand why there would be a ‘HDD’ error when I dont actually have one (and don’t intend on using one). Any help would be much appreciated.

Attachments

Oddba11

Jim
"HDD" would apply to any mass storage device. ie: traditional spinning HDD, SSD, or m.2, etc.

If you have both Evos connected, disconnect one of them.

Adamjoz

"HDD" would apply to any mass storage device. ie: traditional spinning HDD, SSD, or m.2, etc.

If you have both Evos connected, disconnect one of them.
Hi, thanks for the reply, I have tried connecting 1 and even 0 drives to the board and the same error still comes up. I have also tried both drives in both of the 2 front m.2 slots.

crjdriver

I checked the support page for that motherboard. your processor is supported from bios 0607 on; not from the release bios.
Since this board has bios flashback, this issue is easily fixed. First and foremost, read how to use bios flashback; it is not as easy as a regular bios flash. Once you are sure you understand the procedure, then flash to at least bios 0607 or just use the latest one. Here is a link to the support page for your motherboard;