HDD Format

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

barndoor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
5
Recently re-installed WXP on a different HDD, would like to wipe the previous WXP install on its HDD, but it will not let me, how do i do it safely in WXP?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Boot from the XP CD and try formatting it from the Recovery Console, or boot from a Win98 Boot Floppy and using fdisk to remove the partition. Then, use XP's Disk Management in the unallocated space to create a new partition and format it.
 

barndoor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
5
Elvandil Hi,
Thanks for your reply, have been into WXP Recovery console before, and have a W98 Boot Floppy, but am nervous about using them and fdisk, is there a walkthru/idiot guide anywhere that i can use?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Most hard drive manufacturers have a disk format utility that you can download from their websites, and most have bootable CD versions. In order to make it completely idiot proof, unplug the data cable(s) for the drives you do not want to format.
 

barndoor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
5
Think it will not let me format it because it has a password protected WXP install on it, so, if i disconnect all my other HDD,s and boot with WXP CD, get into recovery console, i should be able to format HDD OK?
 

barndoor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
5
Sorted,
Used this method-
go into Control Panel/Admin Tools/Computer Management/Disk Management and select the old drive you wish to reformat

Still makes you nervous tho when you do not do it often, started my system up last week, message said "Cannot load Windows some system file missing"
Oh S_ _ t ! went into recovery console, which said WXP was on D: did not click at first, then realised that the HDD boot order had changed in BIOS, how i do not Know, got it back straight away!

Thanks (y)
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
I guess we assumed that Disk Management is where you couldn't accomplish the format originally.

You can mark your own threads "solved" using the Thread Tools.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top