HDD in secondary IDE?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

renegade X

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
569
I have never tried this. I was going to go buy an IDE card, but I figured maybe I can just put a HDD in the secondary IDE channel. Will it work or should I do it?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,772
Yes, you can put a hd on ide2.

What do you have on ide1?

Will this be your boot drive?
 

renegade X

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
569
Nah, long story, I need to reformat my C drive, because my floppy doesn't work (to get me to DOS). I convert a FAT 32 to NTFS and I cant go to Last Known COnfig, or safe mode. I have always wondered about the extra HDD, so this is nice. Thanks for the speedy reply. Mods can close.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
2,740
Hold on here a minute Renegade, it may well be that you have a boatload of problems already never mind adding a new drive.
Why can't you get into Safe Mode or last known etc
:confused:
Wolfey
 

renegade X

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
569
It seems weird, I know but I am thinking that the format may have been FAT or FAT16. Not sure why it did that. I should work fine in a sec.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,772
If you are running xp or win2k, just boot with the CD. You can enter the recovery console and partition / format any drive.

Generally if you have two ide drives, they would be put on ide1 as master / slave. IDE2 would be used for optical [CD type] of drives. You can however connect a hd to ide2.
 

renegade X

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
569
Done. Thanks for all the input. I now have three HDD installed. And I have a fresh installation on my new primary partiton. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top