HDD not picking up in Windows

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Grrimm

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
25
Hi, I'm busy trying to repair someones hdd, it appears that the OS was corrupt so I hooked it up as an external to my laptop.
Its not picking up in my windows, it does however show in disk management but am unable to initialize disk, it gives a data error (cyclic redundancy check)

upload_2017-10-5_21-50-39.png
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
A CRC error indicates that the drive has failed (period). You need to get a like sized drive and sector clone the failing one to it in order to get away from the bad hardware.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
Its way easier and much faster using a desktop with the failing drive and the target attached using SATA ports to the second and third ports. You can then boot the PC's original drive and use any decent cloning utility to perform a physical copy of one drive to the other.
Rawcopy works fine (again, choosing the physical devices) even though it doesn't give you much of a report when its done.
http://www.roadkil.net/program.php?ProgramID=22
Afterwards, if the copy was mostly successful, run CHKDSK on the copy (NOT CHKDSK /R, ever!).
 

Grrimm

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
25
The drive says no volume, and unknown. Also the drive does not show in windows so I won't be able to run a chkdsk as it has no drive letter assigned, cannot assign drive letter, because no volume.
 

Grrimm

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
25
Its way easier and much faster using a desktop with the failing drive and the target attached using SATA ports to the second and third ports. You can then boot the PC's original drive and use any decent cloning utility to perform a physical copy of one drive to the other.
Rawcopy works fine (again, choosing the physical devices) even though it doesn't give you much of a report when its done.
http://www.roadkil.net/program.php?ProgramID=22
Afterwards, if the copy was mostly successful, run CHKDSK on the copy (NOT CHKDSK /R, ever!).
I tried downloading that software but gave an error, think its only for windows 98/Me/XP
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
Grrimm,
You may find that things behave entirely differently once you have cloned (photocopied) the failing drive to one which is not failing.
Did you notice that I have been doing this for 41 years and that includes over 10,000 data recoveries?
 

Grrimm

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
25
upload_2017-10-6_0-27-11.png

This is the error I got when trying to install the RawCopy software
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
Its also available as a standalone executable; but, its telling you to right click on the installer and choose Run as Administrator so it can install.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top