HDMI not showing up in Playback devices

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gwyds

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
4
I cannot get sound through my hdmi, from my laptop to Samsung tv, picture is fine but sound only coms via laptop.

I've exhausted all troubleshooting avenues, including, " show disabled devices" got a new hdmi, checked for windows update, it just doesn't show up and I can't get sound from the laptop to tv, any help appreciated.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
373
First Name
David
Control Panel ---> Sound

Do you see the HDMI ?
If you do, set it as "Default" so when the HDMI is connected, it becomes the Default Output device and when it is removed, the system reverts to Laptop speakers.
 

gwyds

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
4
Hi, no it does not show at all, it was working seamlessly before, but all of a sudden no sound and disappeared from playback devices.

Thoughts?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
373
First Name
David
Disconnect the HDMI at both ends. Reconnect and verify full insertion at both ends.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,202
First Name
Liz
It's going to take me awhile to find exactly where I filed my notes. We have 2 Acer laptops, running 64 bit Windows 7 Home. I connected both, one at a time by HDMI to our tv. One worked and the other did not. No option for sound was shown.

It was because one had an AMD CPU and the other had an Intel CPU.

I'll be back - once I either find my notes or track down a long thread on a forum where I got help.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Traced my thread
The troublesome one (Intel) doesn't offer anything but speakers as the only playback option. Everything else is grayed out:Configure, Set Default, Properties

Solution after trying lots of things: in Device Manager disable Intel Display Audio, scan the computer and select High Definition Audio Device.

Once that's done, HDMI is a playback choice.

For me: I plugged the HDMI cable in and the HDMI generic was replaced with Philips (my tv). I had to select it as the default device. It doesn't switch immediately as it does on the other netbook but that's minor. I tested with a short video I have and the sound comes through the tv.

If your chip is NOT Intel, then I'm not sure what to tell you to do.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
373
First Name
David
If it is not showing up. Perhaps it ios a problem with Plug 'n Playing the Video Chip-set realted audio drivers.

@gwyds
What is the Make and Model of the laptop in question ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top