1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HDTV won't play sounds for XBOX360

Discussion in 'Games' started by JustinVilleneuve, Jun 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, I bought my XBOX two days ago, and yesterday I got an HDTV for it, a 47' RCA. I have properly plugged in all of the correct jacks, the green, blue. and red video plugs, and the red and white audio plugs, into the same video mode of course CMP1. It will not play any sounds but I know it's not my xbox cable because first of all, I just bought it, and second of all I used it on my smaller TV and the sounds plays perfectly, only problem with the smaller one is I can't read anything because the font is too small. You should probably know that I got it second hand off of a friend and he used his cable TV on it and it played the audio, I don't know if something happened after that but he didn't move it around too much. I also bought an HDMI cable (which supports sound AND video) and tried that too, same problem, no sound, perfect picture quality. I would appreciate any feedback or help. I may have to take it in to get it fixed but I would like to try as much as I can before I do, as I get very irritated about spending money for something I could've fixed myself, as do we all. :p

    Things I've tried:
    Gone through the menu messed around with audio menu
    Plugged in computer speakers into the head phone jack
    Plugged headphones into the headphone jack
    Throwing it against the wall
    I've gone through the XBOX audio settings
    Tried CMP1 and 2
    Tried HDMI
    Tried plugging it into extra audio ports

    Edit: I also realized that this may not be the correct thread, and if so I'm sorry.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,394
    First Name:
    James
    whats the model number of your tv?
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    You made sure that the HD switch on the cord has been turned on? o_O
     
  4. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Haha, of course, otherwise it wouldn't even give me a picture, this video mode is specifically made for HD.
     
  5. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    l37wd22yx5

    please excuse my double post.
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    If you can either bring your cord over to a friend's house with an HDTV and see if it works, or a friend bring their cord over to see if it works on your TV that'd be good to know if it's the cord or not.
    ------------------------
    Now assuming that it's -not- the cord...the only option left is the TV. Call your manufacturer and tell them of the problem and get the address and stuff to ship the TV back to. ^_^
    ----------------------------------------
    Though I'd be pretty pissed if I got a new TV and it didn't work. It's highly unlikely that this is the problem...but I just don't see any other possibility.
    ___________________________
     
  7. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    It's not the chord, its brand new and its been used on a different TV and it worked fine...as for the shipping I'm pretty sure the warranty is now void.
     
  8. gatewaypc700

    gatewaypc700

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Lol, the only option left is the tv? I think that it may have been a pretty good chance of it being an xbox. I had one that didnt work, so I brought a ps3.

    Remember: When giving advice on the consoles, remember that they are not perfect and there is a large chance that the problem will lie within the console itself.

    Nice on the new cord working though.

    James
     
  9. gatewaypc700

    gatewaypc700

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Wait, the cord didnt work and its not net O.O.

    Ring up microsoft, it could be the console.
     
  10. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    As it says in my post, I tried it on a different TV...its not the XBOX

    EDIT: I know the problem now, I turned it up to full volume, and while I was playing Skate 2 it makes cracking noises and I can faintly hear the sound the board makes when it hits the ground, I guess its in need of professional repair. Thank you all for your help, but the audio cable must be broken inside or something.
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,394
    First Name:
    James
    cant seem to find that TV on RCA's site. They go up to 46".

    Sounds like the problem is with the TV. How old is it?
     
  12. gatewaypc700

    gatewaypc700

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Sorry.
    Also, what type of tv is it? I play my ps3 on a computer screen with HDMI input and built in speakers (i know!) the built in speaker is really quiet and I have to use external speakers instead.

    However, on my computer, the internal speakers are loud enough and I have no need for the external ones. (Apart from the fact that they are 5.1 surround...)

    Maybe this could be a problem?

    James
     
  13. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    You know I tried plugging in some headphones, it didn't work.... same with my subwoofer and my computer speakers. I believe it's probably just a busted wire or something It'll only cost me 100$ but unfortunately I have to wait 2 weeks for my next pay.
     
  14. gatewaypc700

    gatewaypc700

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Wait what................
    Hang on.....
    The sound is outputted from the xbox onto the tv speakers. How has plugging headphones, which means that it will be outputted from the tv onto external speakers, going to help?
    Im very confused at the moment.
    James
     
  15. JustinVilleneuve

    JustinVilleneuve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Mostly just an act of desperation to try to get some sound out of it. Its also a headphone jack in the side of my tv.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - HDTV won't play
  1. 2twenty2
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    514
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/833421

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice