1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Heelp needed re home network!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Charllie, Feb 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Charllie

Charllie Thread Starter

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to this site so plz be gentle with me!! I am hoping that you will be able to help me with a long term problem that i have.

For the past 8 months i have been tryin to set up a home network with my daughters pc (upstairs) and my pc (downstairs). However i have not had much success so i will explain what i have done and i wait in hope that someone can help me. I would appreciate it if any instructions could be in easy step by step, im not that bad with computers but not that clever with internet lans etc.

Ok my pc (downstairs) is running windows xp pro and service pack 2, the firwall and virus program used is trend micro pc-cillin internet security 2005. Windows xp firewall is off. This is the computer connected to the internet by BT broadband 1mb through an external speedtouch 530 router. The broadband connection is and always has worked fine with no problems. I also have an internal ethernet adapter/connection.

My daughters pc (upstairs) has windows xp pro also and is not connected to the internet. She has an internal ethernet adapter/connection.

I have an ethernet cable running and connected from the back of my daughters pc to the ethernet connection to the back of my pc. The speedtouch modem is connected to my pc (downstairs) by usb port. The speedtouch modem is also connected directly to the phone and has the correct supplied filter on the connection.