1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP Can not connect desktop to Internet, laptop works fine

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by mhfight, Jun 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mhfight

    mhfight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I have tried multiple solutions and can not access the Internet from my desktop - my laptop works fine through the wireless router ... I am running a full system scan through Avast to see if there are any viruses, other than this I am not sure what to do but my Dell is now a rather expensive paper weight if I can't access the Internet (Edit 9:55 AM - according to Avast I have no viruses on the computer, HELP!)
     
  2. mrbreeeeze00

    mrbreeeeze00

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    We would need some more info

    1. What operating system are you running?

    2. Are you using a modem and wireless router or a single wireless/modem device?

    3. It sounds like your desktop is hardwired into the router, is that true?

    4. What is it indicating in the system tray, (the small area by your clock) ?
     
  3. ktulu11

    ktulu11

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Has there been connectivity with the desktop to the internet previously?
     
  4. mhfight

    mhfight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    ktulu, i have had no connectivity problems before yesterday

    mrbreeeeze, i am running windows xp on a dell ; i have a belkin router that appears to be working fine as i can use my laptop ; the router is connected to the computer through a blue network cable ; and the status in the system tray says that it is connected (this is the main reason i am confused - it says i am connected but i can not get on the web through IE or Firefox)

    thanks for any advice
     
  5. mrbreeeeze00

    mrbreeeeze00

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Try Control Panel/Network Connections. Find the Local Area Network icon and right click. Make sure it is enabled and then select "repair".

    It also sounds as though your Belkin is connected to your Internet modem. If the above doesn't work try resetting everything. Shut down all PC's and unplug your modem and router (make sure you don't confuse and cross the two power supplies). Now plug in your modem and wait until it locks up. Then power up your router and make sure it locks up. Then power on your desktop and see what happens. All it sounds like to me is that the IP address on your desktop needs to be renewed so these suggestions should help you. Let me know what happens. Sorry I took so long to get back to you. I will be around for a while now and checking in.
     
  6. ktulu11

    ktulu11

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    If the IP Adress needs renewed you can always try:
    ipconfig /renew

    But definitely power everything down and let it reset itself and power up.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/932437

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice