Help ! can't download games or websites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crittercutter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
8
I am not real computer smart, I need to be guided for fixes, I keep getting this program cant be downloaded due to security settings, have done everything it tells me still no good, also my applet for yahoo games wont work, and cant download anything due to my security settings, any one out there that can tell me step by step what to do ??? I have been sent to several websites to check my security system out...I dont understand a word of what it is trying to say, or which program out of the fifty to download to correct problem, I can take a collect call if someone is willing to help, Called Dell, and my ISP they wont help without me spending 200.00 for a maintenance prog, NO Way! Please help I miss my POGO
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
43
go to:
Control Panel
double clicks Internet Option
click Security tab
reset security level to medium
go to Privacy tab
reset settings back to medium
click Advanced tab
make sure have check mark by: Java, in all of Multimedia (if need)
check only in Security: check certificate, check signature, use SSL, use TLS, warn about certificate, warn if POST, enable integrated authetication, enable XMLHTTP (can do all this by using Restore Advanced Setting)
next check your which ever firewall setting you have
 

crittercutter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
8
Well timmy69, didi what you said, still nothing, my IE explorer crashes just as game would be coming up, also on the bar where it says opening page at the end it says no java applet. still keeps saying my security settings wont allow this download, I cant even re install IE or java cant download anything to help at all....any more tips???:eek::confused::(
 

crittercutter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
8
also timmy 69 why does my active x approval come up every time I hit the enter key, man that is really making me mad
 

crittercutter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
8
Hi, timmy69 I still cant download games, or programs, or applications, no updates, and the active x yes or no thing comes up every sec. I dont know what to do, I miss my pogo. my cookies are enabled, it tells me their not, java is installed but applet wont allow me to play games, tells me security settings prevent me from accessing and downloading programs. or cookies need to be enabled, I am going crazy here !!!!:mad::mad:
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
43
ok what you can do at the mean time is download and install another web browser, then download the java applet from sun
install them both and test to see if you can still play your online game
also try to recall what event happen prior to this situation, such as changes that you make to the system
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
I've removed the Solved label from the thread for you.

If you have Internet Explorer 7, go to Tools and then Internet Options. Click on the Advanced tab. Then click on the Reset button, then click on Reset again.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
You should also go to Add or Remove Programs and remove all old versions of Java, there may be a few. Then download the latest Java from here: http://www.java.com/en/
 

crittercutter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
8
Hi, Timmy69, Me again...that is the problem, cant download, can I copy to disk firefox, or what ever browser you suggest, from another computer and where can I find these that will allow me to copy so i can copy and put on my computer....Thanks again so much. Dana
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
43
if very desperate, you can go to a local library and access internet there
down load the broser installation software into a USB drive, and take it back with you
you can install and see if this new browser can access the feature with IE7 or not.
if it can then there is something wrong with IE7
if it can't then there must be some security features that we have to change somewhere
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top