1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help, can't get sound to work

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Stargazer222, Jan 27, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stargazer222

    Stargazer222 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    My sound worked, then I moved my computer and cleaned out some files and now it doesnt work anymore. does anyone know how to walk me through my system to find the problem?
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    double click the speaker icon in the systray, make sure nothing is muted and the volume levels are set properly

    go to start/setting/control panel/system/device manager/sound tab, any errors showing up.

    If you still have the cd reinstall your sound drivers.
     
  3. Stargazer222

    Stargazer222 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I no longer have the disc to load. I checked the control panel and the mute buttons. It says that everything is functioning, but still no sound. Any other advice?
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi Stargazer222, welcome to TSG.

    I've merged your other thread with this one...instead of opening a new thread, just hit the reply button back to this one.....

    Since you said you moved the computer, double check the speaker connections to be sure you've got them plugged in correctly and securely.
     
  5. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Note to mod "your quick Candy, merged it while I was trying to :)"

    Please reply to the same thread using the reply button.

    go to start/run/type msinfo32 and press enter, left hand frame, choose hardware environment, choose irq's, once displayed in the right hand frame go to the edit menu, choose select all, back to edit menu choose copy, paste your irq's back into this thread.
    Let's see if your sound card has an irq

    What is the make and model of your sound card.

    Are you sure the speakers are plugged in to the proper port on the sound card.
     
  6. Stargazer222

    Stargazer222 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry about that, kind of new here.

    Everything is plugged in and on. I am not sure of the make and model of the sound card. Here is the information you requested:0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 (free)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Sevel PCI Modem Enumerator
    5 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 OPTi Plug-N-Play MPU-401
    10 OPTi Plug-N-Play Sound System
    11 Trident 9685/9680/9682/9385/9382/9385-1 PCI
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    12 (free)
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller

    Thanks for your help
     
  7. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Well it's an opti sound card and it does have an irq.

    but to get drivers your going to have to know which one it is

    Opti doesn't supply generic drivers, all 3rd party manufacturers.

    See this page on determining how to find out
    http://www.opti.com/my_html/part_mm.html

    If you know the computer manufacturer or motherboard manufacturer you can check with them, they should have driver downloads available.

    You can also try here and see if it will pick up the make and model

    http://www.belarc.com/Download.html

    Last would be to go to device manager, select the sound card, hit remove, reboot, and hope windows finds the correct drivers for it.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    BrianF.....Hehe, I also moved it to hardware when you weren't looking....

    Nothing seems out of place there on the IRQs.

    Open the volume control icon again, go to options, properties, and place a check mark in everything under playback...look again at the volume controls and muted items.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66719

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice