1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP - can't load Pogo games

Discussion in 'Games' started by NSST2005, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NSST2005

    NSST2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I'm new here, so, sorry if I'm starting a new thread for something already solved, I searched, but couldn't find my exact problem. I have a Dell Inspiron 1721 running Vista.

    I've been a paid member of Pogo for over 5 years. I recently purchased a new wireless router (when even duct tape won't hold it together, it's time for a new one.) No problem with getting on the internet or loading pages - including Pogo. When I got online the first time with my new router
    , I got an update notice from Java, so I downloaded the update.

    I can go to the Pogo site, go to the game, open it, and click "start game" and as is normal, it says "please wait, game loading... and it will do that for hours without loading. I cleared my browser cache (chrome and FF), and also cleared my Java cache. I went to the Pogo troubleshooting page and did every single one. I even briefly turned off my firewall. Nothing helps. Anybody got any suggestions or ideas?
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    It might be your router settings.....maybe you will have to allow Pogo in the router settings also try allowing Pogo through the Windows firewall.
     
  3. NSST2005

    NSST2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I noted in my request that I had already tried disabling my firewall (temporarily) and that didn't help. I'll try the router settings. Thanks!
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yes I know but disabling the firewall does not turn it completely off and can still block Pogo.
     
  5. NSST2005

    NSST2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Somewhere, I found something that said to go into the "wrench" icon (in Chrome), settings, advanced, and disable the "Predict network actions to improve page load performance" setting. It helped - some. Still some issues, but my biggest problem is that I can't find the CD that came with the new router (just moved). I hope I can simply contact Netgear and get some help from them, but honestly have not had time. Used to live with my brother, and he was a techie. All I had to do was say "John, it's not working!!!". Twenty minutes later - all fixed. I sure miss him ;). You know anything about router settings (and how to access them)? Sorry, I'm a software whiz, but hardware - not so much.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059972