1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help desktop monitor in power saving mode

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Hay2013, Dec 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hay2013

    Hay2013 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I have just moved house and had to disconnect all cables - now having put them all together again my LG Screen displays lg logo but then goes into power save mode and does not display anything from pc - the pc is booting up but i cannot see anything on the screen - can anyone help? thank you
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,062
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi Hay2013, and welcome to TSG.

    You're not giving us much to work with. Can you please tell us ...

    1) Model number of the LG monitor

    2) Brand and model number of the computer and/or motherboard in the computer.

    3) If you are using the existing video output that may be in the motherboard or a video controller expansion card. If you are using an expansion card, please give us the brand and model number of the card (not the brand and part number of the video controller IC).

    4) Type of cable connecting the monitor to the computer.

    5) If you are using a plug-in video controller card, have you checked to make sure it didn't work its way loose during the move?

    6) What indications are you getting that the computer is otherwise booting normally?
     
  3. Hay2013

    Hay2013 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry but of a numpty when it come to this !

    Lg monitor L194WTS
    Acer aspire SA90-DB7J
    Connected via VGA cable
    Built in video card

    Have checked connections time and time again!

    Computer makes all right noise and beeps once when starting up, fans going etc but am only assuming it has started up.
     
  4. Dougx789

    Dougx789

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Have you checked the monitor is on the correct display settings?

    Make sure the monitor is set to VGA if that's the connection you are using.

    (check your manual as to how to do this, if you no longer have your manual you should be able to download a PDF version from the LG support pages for your monitor)
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,951
  6. Hay2013

    Hay2013 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I copied it because it was the exact problem that I have been having but the solutions posted to that post didnt sort my problem out. Was easier to copy as it was explained to the exact detail in that post!
     
  7. Hay2013

    Hay2013 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    If it helps I bought a new VGA cable in case it was that and with that connected I just get check signal cable message and it doesn't go into power save mode and shut off? Does that help?
     
  8. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,062
    First Name:
    Chuck
    As Dougx789 mentioned, have you checked the monitor's on screen menus to make sure the VGA input is selected on the monitor?
     
  9. Hay2013

    Hay2013 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Can't see where or how you do that?
     
  10. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,062
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I found the user manual on line. Is there a "Source" button on the monitor?
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,951
    There is reason to believe that it was also your account. Are you sure you don't remember creating it back then? In any event, I will close that account now since we don't allow more than one.
     
  12. Hay2013

    Hay2013 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Not that I could find no, have looked at all the buttons and nothing like that!
     
  13. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,062
    First Name:
    Chuck
    OK, I had thought I found the link to the PDF version of the manual for your monitor here:
    http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-L194WT-SF#

    Page A9 shows some buttons on the back of the monitor and one of them is labeled "SOURCE".

    Can you find a copy of the manual for your monitor on-line that we could use for reference?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1116325

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice