1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP! Diagnostics on my Laptop say:

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by anita7719, Jan 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    I need help!

    I have my laptop which is connected to the wireless network at home. I work with Windows XP. The problem is the WEB BROWSER (internet explorer) is not working. It gives me this:
    cannot find server- microsoft internet explorer

    The page cannot be displayed.

    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust you browser settings.

    To attempt fixing network connectivity problems, click tools, and then click "Diagnose Connection Problems..."

    So i did that. This is what the Diagnostics Log tells me:

    Last diagnostic run time: 01/28/10 4:59:10
    Gateway Diagnostic
    Gateway
    info The following proxy configuration is being used by IE: Automatically
    Detect Settings: Enabled Automatic Configuration Script: Proxy
    Server: Proxy Bypass list
    info Could not get proxy setting via the Automatic Proxy Configuation
    mechanism
    info This computer has the following default gateway entry(ies): 0.0.0.0
    warn There is no default gateway entry
    action Automated repair: Renew IP address
    action Releasing the current IP address...
    action Successfully released the current IP address
    action Renewing the IP address...
    action Successfully renewed the current IP address
    info This computer has the following default gateway entry(ies): 0.0.0.0
    warn There is no default gateway entry
    and so forth;
    It goes on just repeating itself....what should I do?


    The other PCs are working fine. but they are connected to the ethernet cable.

    helppppppppppp
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Start by turning off the automatic proxy configuration under the Connections tab of Internet Options. Click the LAN button.
     
  3. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    okay. I am in LAN settings. It says:

    Automatic configuration
    Automatic configuration may override manual settings. To ensure the use of manual settings, disable automatic configuration.

    it's checked on automatically detect settings.
     
  4. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    When I do the Diagnostics Log it says it could be my modem/router but
    below the bubble comes up saying "Wireless Network Connection is now connected. signal strength Exellent.

    I don't know if this will help but below the gateway diagnostic way down in the bottom in HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Diagnostic has:

    warn FTP (Passive): error 12029 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: A connection with server could not be established.
    that's repeated about 6 times. then
    error Could not make an HTTP connection.
    error could not make an HTTPS connection.
    error Co9uld not make an FTP connection.
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Did you uncheck the automatic box?

    How was this connection set up in the first place?
     
  6. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Yes both automatic boxes are unchecked.

    The laptop found signal to the wireless network I have at home. I just put in the WEP keyword and it connected.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    So, you're all set now?
     
  8. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Nothing it still displays the same thing
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Click the Refresh button in IE. Do you have any other programs that connect to the internet that you could try?

    What does ipconfig /all say now?
     
  10. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    its say:
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name ....................: changeme1
    Primary Dns Suffix ..........:
    Node Type ....................: Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled .........: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled........: Yes
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Open your Network Connections folder and right-click the wireless connection. Choose Properties. Are both boxes checked for automatic?

    Do you have any firewall installed or some kind of "internet security" application?

    Has this laptop been working on this connection before, or are you setting it up for the first time?

    Do you have any other web browser? Any new programs?
     
  12. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State................:Media disconnected
    Description ................: Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Physical Address..........: 00-14-22-EA-9A-66
     
  13. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    I don't see the boxes you're talking about
     
  14. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    I am setting up for the first time again. because it was cleaned out completely. Firewall is on. I have a program called AVast for viruses idk if that makes a difference.
     
  15. anita7719

    anita7719 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    before we reset the laptop it was working fine. the internet browser everything. No other program is working on the connection neither.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/898207

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice