1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help disabling "memory debugger"

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by BlackFrancis, Oct 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BlackFrancis

    BlackFrancis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Compaq thought it would be funny if they'd put a memory debugger on my computer and giving me no clues on how to disable it - never mind that, they never told me it was on it.

    I have to run a program that has an issue with the memory debugger. And to be completely honest, who needs a memory debugger?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    Welcome,

    Got anymore Info on it name etc.......
     
  4. BlackFrancis

    BlackFrancis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Thanks for the welcome.

    No. I haven't any damned clue as to what this program might be.
    A friend was telling me that this is within virtual memory, and locating it would be close to impossible. Also it could be things like Yahoo and MSN messengers. I have both, but closed. Think there might be some truth here?

    Edit:

    I do appologise. This is the error message I encounter when I attempt to start the program

    "This application cannot run with an active debugger in memory. Please unplug the debugger and restart the application"
     
  5. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    What program has an issue with the memory debugger and what messages do you get that informs you of this?
     
  6. BlackFrancis

    BlackFrancis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Republic: The Revolution
    It runs off my HD, download. I can't stand CDs... filthy things.
    It's a windows "Warning" info box.
     
  7. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    And the warning info box says what exactly?
     
  8. BlackFrancis

    BlackFrancis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    "This application cannot run with an active debugger in memory. Please unplug the debugger and restart the application"
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    Try these things open Internet Explorer and click on the Tools tab at the top then Internet Options...then Advanced tab and disable Script debugging in Explorer and Script Debugging in other are ticked

    Also try

    Right click on the Icon of the program and then Properties and then compatibility tab and change it to Win 98 or play around with the settings and see
     
  10. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
  11. BlackFrancis

    BlackFrancis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Thank you.
    Your compatability tip worked.
    Many, many, many thanks
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/511402