1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help getting an older monitor to work

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mrclean816, Oct 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrclean816

    mrclean816 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    New problem from older thread http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/644320-schematic-help-connecting-wires.html
    thanks for all your help, i finally got the connector on the back to operate....
    It finally clicked that I had to keep the connections closed in order for to operation to take hold.

    Now the only problem I'm having is connecting my xbox 360 to it via the vga adapter.
    I have wired up the db-15 rgb2 output to the same pin 1-15 to a hd-15 vga plug.
    I plug in the xbox to the adapter and nothing. Doesn't do anything.
    I might be missing something, but I'm not sure so I included all the pages that have anything to do with that port.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    and some pictures of the little adapter I made

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,127
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Did you connect pin #1 to pin #1, pin#2 to pin #2, ... pin#15 to pin #15 between the two connectors in your adapter or did you match up the signal names for the pins?
     
  3. mrclean816

    mrclean816 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    i connected corresponding pins... 1 to 1 and so on
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,127
    First Name:
    Chuck
  5. mrclean816

    mrclean816 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    ok, so far i've got this layout from the monitor to the vga female.
    1 Red volt to 1
    2 to 2
    3 to 3
    9 red ground to 6
    10 to 7 11 to 8
    12 h sync to 13
    13 v sync to 14

    and above that do I need a monitor ID of any kind?
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,127
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You may want to add the green ground (VGA 7 - Monitor 10) and blue ground (VGA 8 - Monitor 11).

    I can't tell from the connector information how the ground reference is established for the TLL level H & V sync. You may need to connect pin #10 of the VGA connector to either pin #9, 10 or 11 of the monitor connector.

    I had a chart many years ago that described the ID bit configurations that Identified the video mode of the monitor. I don't have it anymore though. You may try leaving the ID bits unconnected for now.
     
  7. mrclean816

    mrclean816 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    yeah what i ended up doing was purchasing a vga to rgb5 cable.
    so hopefully that should take care of everything and i wont have to use that odd "vga/rgb" connector.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/644851

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice