1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help guys?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Benvalo, Apr 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
  2. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
  3. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    I only have DDR memory though, would that still work?
     
  4. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    The DDR memory that you have is on the motherboard and that is called RAM. The RAM you have will not effect the memory that is on the graphics card so this will still work in the computer.
     
  5. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Hi pal thanks for the advice, it sounds a better idea to just pay the extra 20 quid for the 4650.

    I just hope my motherboard will be able to function well with it.

    Edit: Will my PSU support it?
     
  6. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Well to know that you would have to find out what wattage and brand the PSU is. Do you think you could open your case and have a look. It is the box usually at the top inside rear of the case which has loads of wires coming out. Usually you will see something like the photo in the attachment
     

    Attached Files:

    • case.jpg
      case.jpg
      File size:
      102.9 KB
      Views:
      60
  7. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Sorry for the late reply pal, I completely forgot about this.
    I'll open up the case and get back to you later on!
     
  8. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    OK no problem, I had forgot as well to be honest. :rolleyes:
     
  9. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
  10. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    The graphics card I suggested needs a PSU of at least 400w which yours is only 350w. You can get a PSU not too expensive which will be able to power it but the cost is all adding up a bit lol.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/152505

    You could go with a cheap-o PSU but to be honest I wouldn't recomend it as the Pentium is a power hungry CPU and so would that graphics card.
     
  11. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
  12. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    That one requires at least a 550w PSU. It is almost certain you will need to get a new PSU to get any kind of graphics performance.
     
  13. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    So is there any that my computer will actually be able to use on eBuyer?
    I'm only really after a graphics card that can play Civilization IV Complete at max :p
     
  14. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    There are ones that will run in your computer fine but they will most likely not be able to power the game you want to play at full settings. It is probably best you go for a PSU as well and a graphics card if you really want to play the games well.
     
  15. Benvalo

    Benvalo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Ah I guess.
    What do you think of the processor?
    Is it really badly outdated?
    If it is, I suppose its probably just best to buy a complete new computer
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919024

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice