Help guys?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Benvalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
19
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
The DDR memory that you have is on the motherboard and that is called RAM. The RAM you have will not effect the memory that is on the graphics card so this will still work in the computer.
 

Benvalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
19
Hi pal thanks for the advice, it sounds a better idea to just pay the extra 20 quid for the 4650.

I just hope my motherboard will be able to function well with it.

Edit: Will my PSU support it?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
Well to know that you would have to find out what wattage and brand the PSU is. Do you think you could open your case and have a look. It is the box usually at the top inside rear of the case which has loads of wires coming out. Usually you will see something like the photo in the attachment
 

Attachments

Benvalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
19
Sorry for the late reply pal, I completely forgot about this.
I'll open up the case and get back to you later on!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
The graphics card I suggested needs a PSU of at least 400w which yours is only 350w. You can get a PSU not too expensive which will be able to power it but the cost is all adding up a bit lol.

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/152505

You could go with a cheap-o PSU but to be honest I wouldn't recomend it as the Pentium is a power hungry CPU and so would that graphics card.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
That one requires at least a 550w PSU. It is almost certain you will need to get a new PSU to get any kind of graphics performance.
 

Benvalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
19
So is there any that my computer will actually be able to use on eBuyer?
I'm only really after a graphics card that can play Civilization IV Complete at max :p
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
There are ones that will run in your computer fine but they will most likely not be able to power the game you want to play at full settings. It is probably best you go for a PSU as well and a graphics card if you really want to play the games well.
 

Benvalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
19
Ah I guess.
What do you think of the processor?
Is it really badly outdated?
If it is, I suppose its probably just best to buy a complete new computer
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top