HELP! I can't play games with my new Radeon 9600 Video Card!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Marrvia

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
37
I just bought an ATI radeon 9600 Series, I installed it and installed the newest drivers for it from the ati site, along with Catalyst Control Panel. Whenever I try playing Doom 3, I load it up, and it plays for about 1/2 second, and the screen turns a bunch of different colors and it freezes. I try playing Half-Life 2, it works okay for the most part, but there are all kinds or weird colors and lines all over the screen. I tried Halo, and whenever I start it up, it says "A problem occur initializing Direct3D" and it say to check if Hardware accerelation is disabled in DXDIAG. I checked, and it is not disabled. I haven't even tried all my games yet, but I have having a really low success rate, only a couple work good. What should I do?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Are you running the latest directx 9C? Do you have your motherboard chipset drivers installed?
 

Marrvia

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
37
I do have Directx 9c. But I'm unsure about the motherboard chipset drivers. I'm actually totally clueless on where I would look for those. I'm not sure why type of motherboard I have, how do I find this?

I have a program called Belarc Advisor, which tells you your system spec. I'm unsure if it shows the motherboard though. There's "main circuit board" which I "assume" is it. This is what it shows

Board: ASUSTek Computer Inc. P4SD-VX To be filled by O.E.M.
Serial Number: To be filled by O.E.M.
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 1004 05/24/2003

Is this it?
 

Marrvia

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
37
I did what you said and installed those, and then reinstalled the Catalyst drivers, but I still have the same problems.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Well, hang in there. I am out of ideas for the moment. The only things I can think of at this point would be.

1-Not enough power.

2-Bad card.
 

Marrvia

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
37
I'm not sure what the wattage of my power supply is. I never would have thought that would be an issue. What should I do? I'm clueless on this.
 

Marrvia

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
37
I took a look at the power supply, here's what it said

Input 100V-240V ~ 4.7A
50,60HZ

Output
+5V 28A max
+3.3V 13A max
+12V 17A max
-12V 0.2A max
+12Vsp 1.2A max LPS output
AUX +5VB 1.8A max
+12V +12VSP Total 209W max
+5V +3.3V Total 165W max
DC output Total 295.4W max

????What do you think????
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Well the power supply is typical of a Sony; low quality and underpowered. Does the video card have a fan? Is the fan working? It might be a faulty card.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Wow, that is terrible. I don't know whether low power would cause that or not. If this is a new card as you said, and not just new to you, take it back or send it back. That is rough.

One thing you might want to do is ask a friend if you could test it in their machine before you return it.

Edit: The more I look at it the more I think bad card. That is terrible.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top