1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help! I don't think my MOBO is compatible with case!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Deecie, Apr 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deecie

    Deecie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I just started building my computer, and it seems all the I/O inputs on my motherboard don't fit the template on the back of my case!

    The motherboard is an Abit NF7-S, and the case is an Antec Lanboy. This is my first time building a computer, and I didn't anticipate anything like this :confused:

    Should I just try to rip out the template on the back of the case?
     
  2. Deecie

    Deecie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Wow. I'm stupid.
    When I got the motherboard out of the box I saw it came with its own template thingy. I thought 'Wow, how stupid, what kind of crappy case wouldn't come with a template thingy!' (I really should find out the correct name for it).

    About 10 seconds later I noticed that the template thingy on the case was incompatible, and panicked and asked a question here. Shows where being closed-minded can get you!
     
  3. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    Calm Down Deecie. We all have started building a new one and get excited and discouraged. This too shall pass and ye shall live to build another one that will be easier.
     
  4. darkelf_18

    darkelf_18

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    ROFL, thats funny. No offense, I probably have done hte same or similar thing
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    The template thingy is called an IO shield. Not all mobos come with them actually. And not all Case IO shields are exactly the same.
     
  6. supperonion

    supperonion

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    right, but most of MB came with I/O shield, I think all MB over $50 will come with one.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223019

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice