Help, I messed up my graphics?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Steppinstone

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
2,798
Not sure if this is the right place for this but here goes. I have an older gateway computer and went to their site ,punched in my serial number and they had some upgrades ,one was a monitor upgrade. I downloaded it to my desktop as advised on GW site, went to unzip it and it told me it was already installed. It asked me if I wanted to over write the current file and I clicked no. After a reboot my graphics are all huge and blurred, I tried adjusting the settings but I am unsure what they were set at before. I am feeling a bit brainless today:)

Any ideas would be most helpful.

I did try using my go back program, and that usually works, it takes the computer back in time before the file was installed, that was unsucessful.

Thanks
Chari
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Check in the add/remove programs see if the update is there if so uninstall it.
 

Steppinstone

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
2,798
I checked there was one update listed, I un-installed restarted and things are the same.
My pixels are all out of whack and everything is super sized!

I really can't believe that I don't know what the settings were before the update, I am just glad that I did not try something major like a bio's upgrade.
BTW running win 98 se!
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Have gone to Control Panel>Display>Setting, then move the screen aera up one notch until the screen returns to former size. If that fails reinstall the video card driver.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
For got to add to last post. While in the screen setting set the color to 32bit true color.
 

Steppinstone

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
2,798
Thanks Dabwid, reinstalling the video drivers solved the issue! Thanks again
Chari who learned today that if it aint broke don't try to fix it!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top