Help I'm stuck in Outlook Express!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
Hi Can you help a learner please I have Outlook Express 6 and a Freeserve account .
Had been trying to add a second account and finally managed it!
I want to know how to change identities though as only my account appears when I start computer.
Also i have created a new user profile for my husband But in the Outlook Express in it it tells me there is no account.
Urgent help needed please from this great group.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
Hi, when you say you've created a new user profile for hubby, do you mean complete user profile for windows? Is it windows XP?
The outlook express thing sounds like you've added an account to your identity rather than create a new identity. If you go into your outlook express, click tools, accounts, how many show up there?
To talk you through it would need to know what type of profile you want to create, what windows etc.
If new user profile in windows xp for eg - you would set up his email account from within his own profile/his own outlook express in effect.
For both of you to use the same outlook express, then you would need to start by creating a new identity first, (file, identities, add new identity) then from there go through adding the e-mail address, pop and smtp settings.
Let me know what windows and exactly how you want to set it up and we can go from there.
 

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
Hi I.ve got Xp and Outlook express 6
The new user account I've done is when you go to Control Panel user Accounts Create a new account.
After i created this account I opened Outlook Express in it and tried to create an account in there for my hubby.
This message comes up
Socket error 11004 Error number 0x800CCC0D

So went back to my account and tried to set his email account up there.
Finally managed it Don't ask me how lol.
But i want it so that he can open his user account and send Emails from inside there and not mine.
But it just won't recognise the set up account there.

also now found out it will not print from word either
I thought that it was only a matter of creating a new user account and everything worked in both!
Does that mean I have to set up all the programs for another account too. Got a headache now!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
Creating a user account then going into that account to create a mail account in outlook express is correct. That error sounds like the settings haven't been set up. Did you set up the user name, password, pop3 and smtp settings in the account?
You'll have a main identity already there, if you create a new identity, change to that identity, in the settings that pop up, you'll get a box saying "I already have an e-mail address to use"
Better stop there first.
Does hubby already have an e-mail address? Are you setting up an old existing e-mail address or creating a completely new one with freeserve?
Are you adding the settings manually too or with a cd?
Programmes in xp should be available to all accounts created. You shouldn't have to re-install.
We'll stick to the e-mail problem first.
:)
 

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
Been trying since last email.
Even printed the info out from my maill email account.
My husband did not have an email account But created one by just changing the first name of mine As i say both work fine in My outlook express But in the new user account (even though everything is identical) I just keep getting the error message and it won't work at all.

Don't know where I am going wrong.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
When you're in his outlook express, do his server settings look like this?
For these settings click tools, accounts, click mail tab, highlight account below, properties, on the server tab.
 

Attachments

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
Hi where you marked hubbys username and Ist bit of address I have got the address after the @.
eg our surname.freeserve.co.uk ( or similar)
But that is the same as mine also.
But it works in my account. Thanks for struggling with me!
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
Mary

what you have done is added him into your account

so for it to work, you need to either use exactly the same settings as your existing account under his profile including your user name ( surname.freeserve.co.uk )& password or sign him up for a completely new freeserve payg account, and use those settings in his account details

using your existing account will result in which ever one of you collects mail will collect all mail for both parties

it would be infitely better to sign him up for a payg account, but only use your existing, I assume anytime account to dial in with and either dial in using his account settings once every 60 days or so, to keep the account open or do what I do as I use NTL now and keep a freeserve email addres for convenience for spam etc, just retrieve account every 60 days from my ntl broadband connection
 

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
Hi I have used exactly the same settings as my existing account Just changed the name before the @
It works fine in my user account But Outlook Express won't do a thing in the account I have set up for my husband The settings are identical to the other one.
So why won't it work?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
Just looked at the freeserve page. I can see how it's done.
For it to work, which isn't ideal as DvK has said, you'd have to enter hubby's e-mail address as the address but in the settings, you'd have to use your name, not hubby's. You are the main account with the user name, so the username would have to be you, not hubby, but checking hubby's email address, not yours.
That pic of the server settings I posted earlier needs your username, hubby hasn't got one in effect, only an address.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
It seems a daft way to do it too. With NTL and Virgin, which I use, you get a main account as with freeserve, but the additional addresses you can have, and I can have 5 of each I think at least, all have their own user names and passwords

[email protected]
username Joe.bloggs
password - whatever joe wants

[email protected]
username shiela.bloggs
password - whatever shiela wants

With yours Mary

[email protected]
username marybloggs
password - whatever mary wants

[email protected]
username - marybloggs
password - whatever Mary wants
 

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
PS.Do I leave it how it is in my user account then?
It is working fine as his name there.
I don't want to disturb that really, as at least that works lol
Just change it in his outlook express in his user account?
 

Me22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Messages
435
Sorry getting completely lost here! Been trying all day to get the flaming thing to work!
So you are saying go into properties servers and change something there?
at the moment in the working account for him (in my user account) it says account name .... just my user name..before the @ Which will be the same for him.
eg brown.freeseve.co.uk So what do I change?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top