1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help installing a radeon 9800 pro.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mr wolf, Sep 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Hi, I recently got a new system.

    It is working well until I try to install my graphics card, a 9800 pro.

    These are its specs:
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Dimension (L)300*(W)200*(H)185 2.85Kg (N.W.) 4.65Kg (G.W.)
    Front Panel USBx2 Line-out/Headphonex1 MICx1 1394x1 SPDIFx1
    Back Panel Serial Portx1 1394x2 USBx2 LANx1 VGAx2 S-videox1
    Extension Bay 5.25"x1 3.5"x2
    Mainboard FN41
    Form Factor Small Form Factor
    CPU Socket A 333/266/200MHz FSB
    Chipsets
    North bridge:Nvidia nForce2 South bridge:nVidia MCP-T
    Memory DDR 200/266/333/400x2(Dual Channel)
    VGA Geforce4 MX 128 MB VGA share memory
    Audio Realtek ALC650 6 Ch Support Digital SPDIF Output
    Expansion Slot PCIx1 8XAGPx1
    IDE interface ATA-133
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Components I have added:

    Cd/RW: Sony 52x52x24 CDRW

    Floppy: 3½" Black Floppy Drive

    HDD: 80GB IBM Deskstar 180GXP ATA100

    CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2700

    Memory: 512MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (DDR400)

    Graphics: ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128Mb DDR AGP
    ------

    After I put the card in. I try to install drivers.

    Halfway through the installation the pc restarts.

    Then it keeps trying to start, but restarts again before windows has a chance to start loading.

    The only way to get the pc running again is to remove the card.

    I have read that the old drivers may conflict with the new ones, so I tried uninstalling the old ones first, then putting the card in. But then I can't even get the pc to start.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    Make sure the AGP setting in the BIOS is at 4X NOT 8x. Re-enable it AFTER everything is installed and operating properly. This is a common problem with 8X video cards because with all the different bus, memory, etc. speeds, the components can't keep together with each other and Windows long enough for Windows to get installed. (They've(components) moved on, Window installation trails in the dust!).
     
  3. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Thanks Ill give it a go.
    :)
     
  4. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    I went into the bios. The only setting I could find was to turn the 8xagp on or off. So I tried putting the card in with it off, but it still doesn't work.

    Not sure if this is relevent, but when I start the pc up normally the start screen reads

    "memory frequency 333"

    But after the card is put in it reads

    "memory frequency 400"

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  5. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    I have tried the same pc with my Geforce 3 from my old pc, and I get exactly the same thing happening.

    So it isn't the graphics card.

    Could it be a conflict with the on board graphics?

    If so, how do I disable it?

    I have looked around the bios but I can't work out how to do it.

    Thanks.
     
  6. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    Sorry. I had responded telling you that the onboard video should be disabled when using an add-in card. I got distracted and failed to send my response. Let's start over.

    1. Will the system work using the onboard video?

    2. Is that a Shuttle mobo?

    3. What version Windows?

    I went to http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=40 and did some perusing around. It appears there are some problems with VARIOUS types/brands of memory with this mobo(if it's a Shuttle). We don't use this brand so I don't know how much I can help you. There are some other people on this forum that are more familiar with Shuttle boards and may be more helpful. You might even post your question on the nforce forum to see what response you get also.
     
  7. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Yes it is a shuttle.

    The system works fine with onboard video but constantly reboots when I put any graphics card in the agp slot.

    I am using windows xp home.

    I have tried to uninstalling the ati drivers, to do a fresh install. But when I go to add/remove programs in the control panel, it wont remove it.

    This is driving me nuts, because I got this pc for the specific reason of upgrading my graphics, and I have read reviews of the same shuttle system using a 9800 pro, so I know it can work.

    I have read about the memory problems, but I hear they come when you use 2 different memory sticks.

    Mine are the same type and size.

    I will try the forum you linked to and see if they can help.

    Thanks.
     
  8. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    I have to leave the forums for awhile but don't give up! MAKE sure the ATI card is PHYSICALLY removed from the system and try removing ALL traces associated with ATI in Safe Mode.
     
  9. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Got it working.

    It was the memory.

    I removed one of the memory sticks, and now it works perfectly (for now).

    Memory definetely seems to be an issue with the shuttle.

    Time to get some better memory.

    Thanks a lot for the help.

    :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164074

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice