1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP I've messed myself up again

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Dawndd, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dawndd

Dawndd Thread Starter

Hi --
    I'm back. I run XP Home SP2 and I crashed my computer about a month ago. Somehow, my numerous attempts to use different boot disks, etc., caused most of my 80 GBs from my C drive to my D drive. I had never used the D drive (I guess you'd call it the slave) for anything. All of my tech friends told me that since I was a novice it would be much easier for me to move everything into the D drive rather than to try to re-partition and get the GBs back to C. I don't think their decision was based so much on my being a novice as it was based on their having no clue how to move the GBs back. Anyway I moved a lot to D yesterday. Today I get an "can't find NTLDR" error and can't boot up. Ah, but this has happened to me before so I pulled out my boot disk for this message. So I got past that screen and got to screen which has nothing onit but a box which says "Window Explorer has encountered a problem and has to close". Then I have a choice of sending in an error message or not. I have had that error in the past and once I was back to normal I removed Internet Explorer 7 and ran IE6. I changed my Microssoft automatic updates to manual so they couldn't upgrade IE on me. I think my computer is a mess because I used no plan in moving files, folders, and especially programs. I got here through Task Manager, which I can pull up. I really need help. I can get to my AOL also. Any ideas are greatly appreciated. I think I'm going to wipe the computer (I did save all of my own work) and load my father's XP PRO. I can't do that with the inability to boot up and the error me