1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help - Laptop won't connect to any other wireless networks!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by GirlieQ, Jul 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GirlieQ

    GirlieQ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Just wondering if anyone could help me? My Laptop wont connect to any other wireless networks (ie at a friends house) - despite the network key and all details remaining the same

    does anyone know what would prevent the computer from connection would be? My internet connection at home is also quite dodgy, and i have to reconnect quite a lot

    any help would be greatly appreciated thankyou:)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I can think of a lot of possibilities, but with that paucity of information I'm not inclined to start listing them. Begin with telling us your brand and model of router, and same for wireless adapter, and what wireless utility you use to manage connections. Also, for your home connection, please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between / and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.

    EDIT: Forgot--what service pack level of XP?
     
  3. GirlieQ

    GirlieQ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thankyou for your help but i dont know some of the details - the router is a BT Internet device and im connecting through windows.

    Its windows xp professional, how do i find more details?

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User1>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : homer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-60-B9-09-71

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth LAN Access Server Driver
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-41-23-AB-F9

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-3E-F9-8F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 14 July 2008 17:10:14
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 15 July 2008 17:10:14

    C:\Documents and Settings\User1>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good enough so far. Please right click on 'My Computer' - Properties - General tab - see whether the Service Pack is 1,2 or 3. SP1 is a problem for wireless because SP2 fixed a lot of problems.

    There have been a lot of driver issues with that Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG adapter, so make sure you have the latest driver and utility for it from your laptop manufacturer's web site.

    Are you using the Intel Proset or Windows XP's WZC to manage the connections? I think that the Intel Proset works better, but whichever you use it is important that the other one is not running.
     
  5. GirlieQ

    GirlieQ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Its SP2 - I also looked at my Intel which is version 1.0.9 and downloaded the latest drivers but it still wont connect - no idea what could be wrong with it.

    Im using windows to connect because the intel doesnt seem to work well for me
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    How is it working now on your network? Still "quite dodgy"?

    At one of those secured sites ask them to disable encryption and see if you can connect that way. Assuming success then try again after they re-enable encryption. Encourage them to use WPA-PSK if possible. If they must use, or insist on, WEP, ask them to use a HEX key since ascii passcodes can get translated differently.
     
  7. GirlieQ

    GirlieQ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    its ok on my network, though it sometimes run slowly. The problem is when i try and connect to another network (ie at someone elses house or work), it connects but there is no internet access

    i have tried in two different places, one with encryption and one without

    its a nightmare!
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    When you cannot connect via wireless try to connect to the same router via ethernet. I know this isn't always possible to try, but when you can try it you then know whether you are dealing with a wireless only issue or some more general networking problem.

    Some people use MAC Address filtering on their router to lock other people out, and then fail to remember that when inviting their guests to use their network.

    You may have a 3rd party firewall (security suite) that is configured to allow only your subnet (192.168.1.x).
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/730430

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice