1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

help me fix the I.T guy at work with display settings

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bobbobb, Feb 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bobbobb

    bobbobb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    I got some good help from BOD with my display propeties and i fixed my home pc so i turned up at work today and the same thing happend there as the I.T department have decided everyone should have the company logo on there pc and its really crap logo hurts the eyes and all that so i fixed it put my desktop back to trees and leaves etc then got a call we are changing it back and they do it from there office, i told him why i changed it and was told tough try it again and you wont be able to change it now, went into display again none of the choice were there now,(tabs were gone they had removed them) so i thought i,ll customize desktop and i cant go on the internet from my pc at work so i used the web setting to post a picture i download from a works camera to be the desktop. second phone call try it again you wont do it anymore.

    so come on boffins lets sort this guy out (by the way its a lighthearted thing) wont get wrong for it

    i have to add i am not adminastrater at work and they have removed the desktop and screensaver tabs at the top of display settings and the web feature, all dvd drives and floppy are disabled and usb sticks are not allowed just access denied.

    browny points for someone to help me but even better you will know you stuck it to him
     
  2. OctanSenator

    OctanSenator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    I work in the same kind of environment...company logo as the wallpaper, but it really doesn't bother me.

    They disable the options so it's all a "Corporate Standard"
     
  3. bobbobb

    bobbobb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    yeh thats right but mines bright white does anyone have a sloution

    cheers bob
     
  4. OctanSenator

    OctanSenator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    The wallpapers bright white? - Try turning your monitors brightness down a touch.
     
  5. bobbobb

    bobbobb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    only problem then is when i get into programs that i use i cant see them properly and some of them are very technical

    by the way its xp pro sp2 they are running
     
  6. OctanSenator

    OctanSenator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    What cant you see properly? - Do you have an example?
     
  7. bobbobb

    bobbobb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    cant disclose what, as we are one of only 2 in the country that have it and its a secret. but the font is very small and has engineering drawings that are small and with that much detail on something that is very big i could do without keep changing the brightness of the screen

    all i am after is a loophole to let me change the desktop (not the world is it)

    let the boffins begin
     
  8. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You also will not get any help from here to override what is obviously company policy (even IF it is in jest).
    It amounts to HACKING and this IS a public forum.
     
  9. bobbobb

    bobbobb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    even the I.T guy has said because i rang him about 15 mins ago to tell him i'm working on it and he is a m8 said if i manage it this time he will let me keep it. Its not hacking if the guy knows i am doing it
     
  10. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You find out yourself then.
    We are NOT going to tell the whole world how to bypass security.

    Read the rules.
     
  11. bobbobb

    bobbobb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    57

    ok it was just a lighthearted thing there is no need to get so serious its just a desktop I was not asking for the codes to launch the bomb.

    never mind you have said its not allowed so fair enough i will just tell him he has won. not the end of the world.

    cheers chastised bob
     
  12. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    The point is that if we tell you, everybody else can see how to do it.

    And they may not just be having fun.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - help display settings
  1. mag777
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    691
  2. aamberdawn35
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    296
  3. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    459
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543796

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice