1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help me please... i dunno if my DVD Writer is broken...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by charlo_blade123, Oct 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. charlo_blade123

    charlo_blade123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    I bought an ASUS internal DVD Writer yesterday.
    after installng it in my CPU and run the computer

    i saw a message upon boot on the screen i can see

    "Secondary IDE channel NO 80 conductor installed"

    what does that means? is my DVD writer broken?

    but i can enter my windows.. so im wondering what does the message means,,

    PRIMARY = HARD DISK
    slave = CD-ROM
    Secondary = DVD Writer
    slave = CD Writer...


    also i have noticed that if i forgot to close the DVD Writer and turn off the computer, it does not close automatic before shutting down.- leaving the DVD writer open..
    the other two drives close upon shutting down..
    so is the DVD writer broken?

    i want to know if its broken, so that i could return it to the shop..
    but i want to make sure if its really broken.. i dont want to humilate myself on the shop..

    thank you.. sorry for bad english..
     
  2. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Did you set the jumper to Master on the new drive charlo?
     
  3. charlo_blade123

    charlo_blade123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    yup.. i guess i have set all jumpers right...

    whats IDE channel 80 cable for?
     
  4. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Have you made sure the ribbon cable is secure?
     
  5. charlo_blade123

    charlo_blade123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    uhmm whats ribbon cable? if u mean the cable that connects HD's, i guess so.. all fits good...
     
  6. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Can I just ask why you want to run a stand alone cdrom when you have a cdrw and dvdrw which will both function as a cdrom?
     
  7. charlo_blade123

    charlo_blade123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    uhhmm.. i dont want to waste the CD-ROM so im using it.
    and i am using it if im copying a Cd while burnin with multiple recorders..


    is it normal for ASUS DVD writer not to close even shutting down the PC?

    the rest close upon shutdown.... maybe that channel 80 is for the auto close?

    so.. what u think, is the DVD writer broken or what?
     
  8. charlo_blade123

    charlo_blade123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    also im having problem about auto start...last day its working fine but right now its not..

    everytime i insert any DVD,VCD movies or even CD-ROm's with autoplay.. the 3 drives doesnt run...
     
  9. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    I might be wrong here Charlo but with your comments about "burning with multiple recorders" I'm beginning to smell piracy.
    I don't feel I can advise on this further sorry.
     
  10. charlo_blade123

    charlo_blade123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Piracy? ohh noh! u got me mistaken! im using it for my data's. what i mean of multiple burner... i run 2 burner program and burn 2 disk at the same time..

    im a college student and i have alot of data's to create duplicates with and even create multiple copies of disk for each proffessor..
     
  11. sockey99

    sockey99

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    As IDE speeds went to ATA100 and ATA133, cross talk became a problem on the 40 conductor ribbon cables. To fix this problem the 80 conductor ribbon cable was implemented as a standard, that is 40 data channel wires , and 40 ground wires separating the data wires. CD drives still work on the 40 ribbons, it looks like your DVD wants a 80 conductor ribbon cable.

    Show me your Student I.D. Card.

    If the tray does't close, push it with your finger.
     
  12. accat13

    accat13

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    657
    Save yourself the problems take out 2 drives and just use the dvdrw on a 80 pin cable...
    If you try and burn multiple discs at once and copy a disc.Your just going to create buffer issues and many coasters. Improve the burn quality...Do one disc at a time and nothing else..Considering it only takes approximately 6 min. to burn a dvd whats the hurry. :)...Plus you have more room in your case for air flow and proper cable management...
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/509833

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice