1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help me please,.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jbjoker, Feb 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jbjoker

    jbjoker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    I recently built my own computer. Now everything was working great until i tried something. I was having some trouble and my motherboard website said it was because of my bios. They said that they fixed the problem and that I should update bios. Well I went to do what the directions said, but the screen was different than what they told me. So i restarted the computer and now my monitor doesn't display anything, my keyboard doesn't work, and it beeps like crazy when booted. It keeps beeping until i put something in the floppy drive, then it beeps in 2's. I have an AMI bios chip on my motherboard. If anyone can understand this and could help me fix this problem, then please email me at either: [email protected] or [email protected] ,. Thank you so much,.
    J.B. Joker
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You just hosed your BIOS by shutting it off in the middle of the process. Unless there is a backup BIOS on the board(some newer boards have 2) youwill have to send it in for repair or order a replacement chip if it is socketed.
     
  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Way out of my tree jbjoker, I don't usually have much to say in the hardware forum, but to respond to your PM, I'll just mention that most BIOS flash programs (never done one myself), as I understand it, give the option to backup the current BIOS before proceeding. The backup is usually stored on the same floppy from which the flash was executed.

    I would try to get any further information you can from the original website or their tech support on how to restore the previous BIOS if that is an option.

    The beeps that you are getting appear to be a "parity circuit" failure .

    This might be ram related. Could you have dislodged some memory?

    http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/sys/beep/amiB2-c.html

    http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm#3
     
  4. jbjoker

    jbjoker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    I know, it said that it would ask me, but the prog that it gave me was so much different than it siad it was,. I didn't even do anything but restart the computer,.
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I edited my last post. I suggest you see if the link on troubleshooting parity errors helps narrow the problem.
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    If you began the flash process with the utility and it began writing to the BIOS shutting it off will have disasterous effects. Restoring it from a backup will only be useful if you have a viable BIOS that will boot your PC in the first place. If you don't get anything on the screen at all and a POST beep warning like you described it isn't even recognizing a processor as being present.
     
  7. jbjoker

    jbjoker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    See I know that i can't reinstall bios or whatnot because i can't see what I'm doin,. The website said its from memory in which i know it can't be,. Now you say its by the processor,. how would i figure that out?
     
  8. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    I never said it was the processor....IT'S YOUR BIOS
     
  9. jbjoker

    jbjoker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    The ami bios chip is small and i am able to take it out, could i just get another one, or is it a set of chips,. there is no other chip that says bios on it,. If I could just change the chip, does it have to be the same one or could it be award or something?
     
  10. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    It has to be the EXACT one for the motherboard. You need to order it directly from the MB manufacturer if they even sell them.
     
  11. jbjoker

    jbjoker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Alright thanx a lot,. I'll check out their website and see whats up,.
     
  12. jbjoker

    jbjoker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    I checked out the website and for the motherboards bios it said this:
    APM 1.2; Plug & Play compliant; FLASH EPROM support; LS-120 support
    What exactly do I have to look up?
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117623

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice