1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

help me! setting up network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mike5426, Sep 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Im having problems setting up a network with a laptop on a dlink 614+ router. I ran the network settup wizards on both machines (they both have xp pro) but i cant share printers or have a shared folder. Can anyone help me?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Make sure that NETBIOS over TCP/IP is enabled on both machines in TCP/IP Advanced Properties. If that doesn't work, consider installing the NETBEUI protocol on both machines.
     
  3. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    ARGHH! i dont know how to do any of this!
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Open Network Connections in Control Panel, Local Area Connection, Properties. Select TCP/IP protocol in the window, Properties, Advanced, and the WINS tab. Check Enable NETBIOS over TCP/IP, close everything using OK.

    To install NETBEUI, here's the Microsoft way which works: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;301041
     
  5. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    ok...none of that worked. any other suggestions?
     
  6. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Have you shared the drives and printer out yet ?

    Right click on the drive - Sharing and security nad check Share this drive, same as whith printer ?
     
  7. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    yes i have done all this.
     
  8. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Is it giving you any error messages ?

    Try opening a command prompt, and type in ping <other pc> where <other pc> is the name of the other pc without the <>...

    Also is the Workgroup names the same ?
     
  9. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    no,

    I did the cmd thing and i ping this computer on this computer and it gave me 100%packet loss. I tried it on the second computer using this one and it didnt even find it. I tried the cmd using the other computer and it did the same thing as this one.
     
  10. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    and yes the workgroup is the same
     
  11. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Ok open a command prompt and type in ipconfig, on both pc's, and post the results from both pc's back here...
     
  12. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Computer 1:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Michael D'Onofrio>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Michael D'Onofrio>
     
  13. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    computer 2:


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mike D'Onofrio>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tu.ok.cox.net
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mike D'Onofrio>
     
  14. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Ok from pc 1 open a command prompt and type in ping 192.168.0.101, and from pc 2 open a comamnd prompt and type in ping 192.168.0.100...

    Also open My network places, double click on Entire Network - double click on Microsoft Windows Network - Double click on the Workgroup name, and see what is showing up there...
     
  15. mike5426

    mike5426 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    ok... both computers returned with 100% packet loss. and there is nothing in the workgroup name let a lone in the network places folder.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164488

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice