1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

help my computer is a mess

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ldowdy56, Mar 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ldowdy56

ldowdy56 Thread Starter

hi everyone,
    im new to this, so bare with me. i have so many promblems i dont know where to start.
    i have to hard boot my coumputer way to much. i get a blue screen that says something about kernal and error disk messages and freezeing. i have avg spyware, pctools antivirus,
    spyware blaster. none of them show any problems. im not very smart when it comes to computers. i have reg. cleaner,pcdoc pro,spotmau wincare 2008. none of thease helps fix
    any of the problems im having. ive spent all this money and im not getting anyware. please
    help me.

2. Rollin' Rog

Rollin' Rog

When did the problem begin, and did you ever try "system restore" to resolve it?

I can run a debugging utility on the dump files if you do this:

1 > create a new folder on the desktop and call it "dumpcheck" or whatever you like
    2 > navigate to %systemroot%\minidump and copy the last few minidump files to that folder.%systemroot% is normally c:\windows. They are numbered by date. You can paste that address in address bar to get there.
    3 > close the folder and right click on it and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.
    4 > use the "manage attachments" in the "advanced" reply window to upload that zip file here as an attachment.

This might point us to a non-system driver causing the error, if one exists for it.

Since almost all bugchecks can be caused by faulty ram, I would recommend you perform memory tests.

Beginners Guides: Diagnosing Bad Memory

Memtest86 - A Stand-alone Memory Diagnostic

3. ldowdy56

ldowdy56 Thread Starter

to rollin rog